FURIOSA: A MAD MAX SAGA First Reviews And Rotten Tomatoes Score Revealed - Is It Better Than FURY ROAD?

FURIOSA: A MAD MAX SAGA First Reviews And Rotten Tomatoes Score Revealed - Is It Better Than FURY ROAD? FURIOSA: A MAD MAX SAGA First Reviews And Rotten Tomatoes Score Revealed - Is It Better Than FURY ROAD?

The first reviews for Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga are finally here, and as well as sharing excerpts from the early verdicts out of Cannes, we have a Rotten Tomatoes score to go with them. Check it out...

By JoshWilding - May 15, 2024 05:05 PM EST
Filed Under: Mad Max
Source: SFFGazette.com

Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga had its splashy world premiere at Cannes earlier today and, as we first reported on SFFGazette.com, the first reviews are now in for George Miller's Mad Max: Fury Road prequel.

The movie received a 7-minute standing ovation in France and, as we write this, it sits at 87% on Rotten Tomatoes. While not a perfect score, the consensus is clearly incredibly positive overall, with the action, visuals, and cast - led by Anya Taylor-Joy and Chris Hemsworth - all receiving praise. 

In fact, it appears Furiosa only falls short in the eyes of some because it didn't live up to their lofty expectations (in other words, it's not as good as 2015's Fury Road).

Overall, it's looking like Miller has another winner on his hands, and providing those all-important box office numbers are good, then we're sure the filmmaker's plans for yet another Mad Max prequel (focusing on the title character) will come to fruition.

Here's what critics are saying about Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga:

With all due respect to Miller's bonkers vision, and his incredible ability to put that vision on screen, Furiosa seems like one of those spin-off graphic novels that plug the gaps between two films in a franchise, but which don't quite match up to the films themselves. [3/5] - BBC

Nine years later comes a prequel, Furosia: A Mad Max Saga, and Miller, now seemingly ageless at 79 (he was 34 when the first one came out) has perhaps given birth to the greatest Max yet, a wheels-up, rock-and-rolling epic that delivers the origin story of the title character Charlize Theron picked up in Fury Road when she was about 26. - Deadline

The chassis may look familiar but there is a very different engine driving Furiosa from that of Fury Road: it’s a rich, sprawling epic that only strengthens and deepens the Max-mythology. It shall ride eternal! [5/5] - Empire

In a sense, Dementus is a character artificially contrived to give Furiosa someone to face off with, a warlord distinct from Immortan Joe. But Taylor-Joy and Hemsworth are a great pairing and Taylor-Joy is an overwhelmingly convincing action heroine. She sells this sequel. [4/5] - The Guardian

Furiosa’s ultimate reckoning with Dementus fulfils the revenge promise even if Miller can’t resist stoking the mythic aspect by having alternate versions of the warlord’s fate, attempting to make it the stuff of legend. This time, not quite. - The Hollywood Reporter

George Miller’s Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga weaves a hero’s journey of epic proportions, ushering in a powerful reflection on what it means to live and love in a dying world. [10/10] - IGN

How do we brave the world’s cruelties? By refusing to become them ourselves. Such an internally combusting prequel might seem like a strange lead-in to a movie that spit fire in every direction, but don’t you worry: George Miller still has what it takes to make it epic. [A-] - Indie Wire

This action franchise set in sun-blasted sandscapes is evergreen. A special place in Valhalla awaits George Miller. [4/5] - Total Film

The most important thing to say about 'Furiosa,' however, is that what it all adds up to is a movie that can be darkly bedazzling, and that will be embraced and defended in a dozen passionate ways — but it’s one that, to me, falls very short of being a 'Mad Max' home run. - Variety

So tip your the greasy, dusty, battered hat to George Miller, who is pulling off some kind of ridiculous feat by turning these grungy action movies into a grand saga. - The Wrap

FURIOSA's Box Office Underperformance May Put The Brakes On MAD MAX: THE WASTELAND
Related:

FURIOSA's Box Office Underperformance May Put The Brakes On MAD MAX: THE WASTELAND

FURIOSA: A MAD MAX SAGA Actor Tom Burke On Shooting Prequel's Most Brutal Scene - SPOILERS
Recommended For You:

FURIOSA: A MAD MAX SAGA Actor Tom Burke On Shooting Prequel's Most Brutal Scene - SPOILERS

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

1 2
FireandBlood
FireandBlood - 5/15/2024, 5:18 PM
So it’s not as good as Fury Road. That’s okay. Very few movies are. But I’ll still be there DAY ONE
Izaizaiza
Izaizaiza - 5/15/2024, 5:20 PM
I don't share the love many have for these films...still, enjoyable fun, with great practical stunts, so I will check it out, I'm sure.
marvel72
marvel72 - 5/15/2024, 5:23 PM
Mad Max 2 and Mad Max:Fury Road are the only ones worth watching. This I will checkout when it comes to a streaming service.
Ryguy88
Ryguy88 - 5/15/2024, 8:01 PM
@marvel72 - that's true, but those are both top 10 action movies of all time, so anything in the franchise should be worth checking out in theaters.
McMurdo
McMurdo - 5/16/2024, 11:32 AM
@marvel72 - I adore the first one for the family aspect. And Toecutter.
LSHF
LSHF - 5/15/2024, 5:26 PM
"Is It Better Than FURY ROAD?"

I don't know. I haven't read the article yet.
TheVisionary25
TheVisionary25 - 5/15/2024, 5:29 PM
Sweet , looking forward to it!!.

Congrats to the cast & crew for the positive reception this far…

Anya seems good in it but Hensworth looks like he will steal the show!!.

User Comment Image

StSteven
StSteven - 5/15/2024, 10:40 PM
@TheVisionary25 - Wait wait wait. Is that teddy bear that Hemsworth is sporting the same one that Cable had in “DP2”? So… does that mean that Furiosa is… Cable’s daughter?!? So it wasn’t Firefist but actually Dementus all along?!?!? And “DP&W” clearly looks like it takes place in the Mad Max-verse, so it’s all coming into focus. Or not. OMG, I’m so confused! Or scintillated! I can’t decide! To the John Nash yarn ‘n tacks board!!
ShellHead
ShellHead - 5/15/2024, 5:37 PM
Fury Road is something that grew in greatness for me on repeat views, I wasn't that wild about it at first. So I imagine this will be similar.
HulkisHoly
HulkisHoly - 5/15/2024, 5:58 PM
Sounds good but hot take apparently…

I cannot for he life of me see the appeal of Fury Road. Im fact, I would say it’s the most overhyped film I’ve seen in a very long time. I watched the film with four other friends who all have very different taste from me (minus one who is a Nolan fan too) and all four of us just stared at each other halfway through the movie and all agreed to watch something else.

Again, we all have very different tastes. One hates comic book movies, two of us love them, one likes romance and the other loved comedies and action films. A couple of us love thrillers and horror while two don’t.

Sure, a small sample size you’d say but the lack of character development and plot of abhorrent to me. 🤷‍♂️
Sabre81
Sabre81 - 5/15/2024, 6:13 PM
@HulkisHoly - Thank you!!!! I honestly agree and don't see the appeal. Shit plot, characters and dialogue is atrocious.
HulkisHoly
HulkisHoly - 5/15/2024, 6:20 PM
@Sabre81 -

There is no character development as I was concerned and the script…what script? There’s like less than 100 lines in the whole film.
The screenplay must have been like 80 pages.
HashTagSwagg
HashTagSwagg - 5/15/2024, 6:29 PM
@HulkisHoly - I never gave a shit about Furiosa or the slave girls, Immortan Joe while cool looking, just seemed like a bog standard villain. Nicholas Hoult and Hardy were the stand outs, other than the rawness of the film, I don't find it very rewatchable.
Sabre81
Sabre81 - 5/15/2024, 6:32 PM
@HulkisHoly - The character development is non-existent! Yeah, screenplay was 80 pages and that was double spaced between lines.

Arrgh, even thinking of the movie makes me angry and it's close to the time I usually try and sleep. Oh well. I only clicked this article to see if RT are giving this prequel a (most likely) over-inflated score. Seems so. I'll skip Furiosa like I have with Morbius, Aquaman 2 and The Marvels. FFS, Morbius is even on my Netflix and all I have to do is push a button to watch it and...I just don't. No interest.
HulkisHoly
HulkisHoly - 5/15/2024, 6:36 PM
@Sabre81 -

Hate clicking an article? It’s a common practice these days on this site haha.

Yeah, even Hardy was forgettable to me and I love Hardy.
Sabre81
Sabre81 - 5/15/2024, 6:59 PM
@HulkisHoly - Yeah, oCBMTrollsly love Hardy too. Didn't like his movie about the Kray brothers though.
Ryguy88
Ryguy88 - 5/15/2024, 8:04 PM
@HulkisHoly - the appeal is the incredibly shot and creative action sequences and the visual story-telling and world building.
MotherGooseUPus
MotherGooseUPus - 5/15/2024, 6:04 PM
Sooooo a great film but not as good as Fury Road, fair enough. Hope to check this out after my honeymoon
Apophis71
Apophis71 - 5/15/2024, 6:21 PM
@MotherGooseUPus - Unsure aggragate scores are any good for Mad Max movies tbh, the original was only about the same as this is getting yet for many Thunderdome was more popular which was ranked way lower at only 80%. Similarly, in a different way many felt Road Warrior was better than Fury road but the RT scores tell the opposite story so...

...I mean all it is realy saying having a lower RT score is slightly lower chance of broad GA appeal and not necessarily indicative of actual quality for a franchise whose films your likely to either love or hate. Which means it has a score high enough to suggest those who have loved the franchise will enjoy this films but may not attract as many new viewers to the franchise as the last one did.
MotherGooseUPus
MotherGooseUPus - 5/15/2024, 8:18 PM
@Apophis71 - I'm not going by RT. I'm going by the reviews above that I read. Personally I think Fury Road is the best of the series but that's just me. I'm just glad the movie is getting good reviews cuz I love movies like this and Dune doing well. It's good for cinema
Apophis71
Apophis71 - 5/16/2024, 4:45 AM
@MotherGooseUPus - From a storyline POV still feel Road Warrior is by far the best but in terms of visuals and overall enjoyment Fury Road tops the pile for me.
GhostDog
GhostDog - 5/15/2024, 6:14 PM
Still sounds like cinema
ModHaterSLADE
ModHaterSLADE - 5/15/2024, 6:20 PM
Hemsworth is pretty good at playing villains. Looking forward to it.
BeNice123
BeNice123 - 5/15/2024, 6:23 PM
Ill be the judge. [frick] rotten tomatoes.
dragon316
dragon316 - 5/15/2024, 6:35 PM
Need see it find out , there are people out there who say super Mario brothers live action movie is better from animated version
Itwasme
Itwasme - 5/15/2024, 6:46 PM
I'm looking forward to it.

I'm a little fuzzy on the timing, because if this was pre-Fury Road and that was right after Thunderdome, wouldn't that put this at least around the original? This kind of setting wasn't really there at that time. That stuff wasn't introduced until Road Warrior.
Apophis71
Apophis71 - 5/15/2024, 7:41 PM
@Itwasme - Well even the original had society breaking down due to ecocide and it was a bit fuzzy how much time between the first and Thunderdome, also a tad fuzzy on exact gap after Thunderdome to Fury Road so if geographicaly distant enough from each other can still work even if it starts before Thunderdome...

...would love someone to work out a timeline but for the sake of argument if the third film was 20 years after the start of the first and this is only a few years before Fury Road then it can still fit well after the second film easily enough.

As I kinda understand it when watching the first two films they were set around the 80's and Thunderdome I thought was around 2000 (was a load of narration about how long he had been wandering the world that sounded like decades) but I thought Fury Road was at least another couple decades after the third film but could be wrong.
Itwasme
Itwasme - 5/15/2024, 8:11 PM
@Apophis71 - Road Warrior was the first film to set up this sort of dystopian reality. The first felt more like just a rural town. They had a white picket fence and all.
1 2

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.

View Recorder