Superdog's Surrogates Review

Superdog's Surrogates Review

Overall not bad, but I get the strange sensation that we've seen this before. CAUTION: MINOR SPOILERS!

Review Opinion
By superdog - Sep 25, 2009 08:09 PM EST
Filed Under: Surrogates
Source: superdog

Just finished watching Surrogates. Here is my take. CAUTION: MINOR SPOILERS, BUT NOTHING THAT WILL RUIN THE MOVIE FOR YOU.

Overall, this movie was good, but the whole time I was watching it I got the strange feeling I had seen this before. A few years back, a movie came out called I, Robot with Will Smith. Ever hear of it? I won't go into the I, Robot plot because I'm sure everyone on CBM has seen it or heard of it already. Well, Surrogates was a lot like that one in many ways.

The basic plot is this:
James Cromwell creates robots to help people in thier everyday lives. (yes JAMES CROMWELL, told you it was like I, Robot). The twist is that everyone uses a "surrogate" to basically replace thier lives. They stay safe at home connected to the surrogates while they go out in the word and have wanton sex (sweet) and adventure with out any harm to the user. As a result of this crime is down 99%. There hasnt been a murder in several years. Therefore, the movie begins with.....wait for it.....a murder. Someone kills a surrogate, and at the same time the person connected to it dies. Enter Bruce Willis's FBI agent who begins the investigation. Several twists and turns and some conspiracies later and...well you get the picture. Some of the twists were obvious, some not so much. The ending was a little cheesy but not over-the-top cheesy.

For those of you expecting the wise-cracking action Bruce Willis you will be heavily dissapointed. The movie has basically two chase scenes that are less than five minutes and that is it for the action. Willis here plays the type of character he played in the 6th Sense or Unbreakable (in fact this movie reminded me of Unbreakable, as well). The quite subdued Willis going through personal tragedy and dealing with large issues in his life and the world. In this case, it is a disconnect with his wife (pun intended) who is basically addicted to her surrogate, and personal tragedy involving a young child (another similarity to the Will Smith I, Robot character). He does a fine job as always. The other performances are also fine, except Ving Rhames whose character was cliched and over the top.

Bottom line: anyone expecting an "action sci-fi movie" will be dissapointed. It does vary from I, Robot in that respect. This is more of a detective conspiracy movie fused with a psychological societal metaphor movie. It has the typical stuff about technology making us less human, and disconnecting us from society and other humans. (the world of warcraft people know what im talking about). On that level it was very satisfactory to me. If you enjoy that type of movie this one is for you.

Overall, I'd give it a 3 out of 5 stars. Not bad for a sci-fi robot movie without Will Smith.

Related:

SURROGATES: Radha Mitchell Interview

Recommended For You:

Surrogates on Blu-Ray: An Interview with Director Jonathan Mostow

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

superdog
superdog - 9/25/2009, 8:16 PM
:)
supermarioworldE
supermarioworldE - 9/25/2009, 8:18 PM
Thanks for the review superdog. I honestly wasn't expecting much from this film, but I'll give it a try. I liked I Robot alright, so who knows, maybe I'll enjoy this. Mediocrity is becoming more and more acceptable in the world anyway
superdog
superdog - 9/25/2009, 8:23 PM
id say it was a little more than mediocre. not MUCH more, but a little. it was enjoyable enough.
antz1104
antz1104 - 9/25/2009, 8:31 PM
I Robot was crap but fun to watch...hence why it's on FX all the time. I love that channel. I'd see this. Thanks for the review superdog.
supermarioworldE
supermarioworldE - 9/25/2009, 8:36 PM
I'll see it this weekend along with Cloudy with a chance of meatballs.

btw, it's great to see somebody besides me that's still up. I swear, the people on this site get a glass of warm milk and go to sleep at 9. It's FRIDAY NIGHT for christsakes!
superdog
superdog - 9/25/2009, 8:40 PM
agreed. now im watching my dvr'd smallville
supermarioworldE
supermarioworldE - 9/25/2009, 8:47 PM
Trust me, you didn't miss much...
superdog
superdog - 9/25/2009, 8:59 PM
yeah. its not bad. not enough lois though.
supermarioworldE
supermarioworldE - 9/25/2009, 9:06 PM
IMO, the show has too much lois! I did like the guy who played zod tho. his voice is very close to terrance stamp
Phinehas
Phinehas - 9/25/2009, 9:36 PM
Thank you for warning me. I was going to see this movie this weekend. But the early reviews alerted me. Hollyweird won't make anything new. This concept is overdone. Thank you Mr. Criminal Defender! LOL J/K

Actually, it was a good article.
LEEE777
LEEE777 - 9/25/2009, 10:44 PM
Cool review @ DOG!! ; )

I ain't gonna watch this at the flicks probably, well i might lol but deff a rental!

Talking WILL SMITH, i liked I ROBOT, but funny you should bring him up, ive just watched I AM LEGEND for the very first time on a dvd just this second ago and OH MY, what a piece of donkey crap that was, i cant believe how sh!Te it is lol, makes HANCOCK look like a masterpiece!!! : D

Yeah, i can see now why i couldnt be that arsed to see it sooner, its total doody!! Really is one of the worst sci-fi's ever made!!!

Thanx again for the review DOG!!
Phinehas
Phinehas - 9/25/2009, 10:52 PM
Sheesh, LEEE. Are we being a tad hyperbolic? Are we forgetting The "Black Knight"?? I didn't think I Am Legend was a masterpiece. But it certainly isn't the pile of crap you're making it out to be. I thought it was leaps and bounds better than Handcock.
superdog
superdog - 9/26/2009, 5:44 AM
Yes it was Martin Lawrence.

I didn't mind I am legend...except when they killed the dog :(

thanks for the props guys. It was a decent movie. I would rcomend it, but like grif says the marketing may be a bit deceptive. Just wanted to give people some more details so they go in knowing what to expect.
Phinehas
Phinehas - 9/26/2009, 10:23 AM
Tea, (lol) yeah I forgot about that masterpiece. But I was referencing that pile of crap The Black Knight Returns. The rip-off b-rate straight-to-video film that LEEE posted earlier last week.
Minotauro
Minotauro - 9/26/2009, 11:12 AM
Well @Superdog, I guess I'm going to have to give you a thumbs up!! But you could tell me the end. Cause I'm pretty much not going to see it until it's on DVD/TV... ;)
superdog
superdog - 9/26/2009, 12:02 PM
The black night returns? That's an actual movie?

Nice article CBM, much better than the one I wrote :) Seriously though thanks for putting my review In main. That's cool!!!!!
HarrisonBergeron
HarrisonBergeron - 9/26/2009, 1:33 PM
Although I actually liked "I,Robot" it relied too heavily on obvious CGI and green screens, which "Surrogates" seems to have pulled off much better. The problem with "Surrogates" is that it was pretty boring, it's the only movie I can remember that I came out of considering a decent flick, but also without having any interest in discussing with anyone. The moral of the story is just too in-your-face and obvious, and everything else just "happens" with little actual suspense.

Casting James Cromwell was a stupid idea, he's cool for the part, but they had to have known that this movie was already going to be compared to "I, Robot" and that it was not going to help things. Ving Rhames character was supposed to be cliched.

I think it is a good movie, but it could have been much better.
----

On "I am Legend"- I just watched "The Last Man on Earth" with Vincent Price and holy shit what the hell were they thinking with Legend? The Last Man plus special effects and the extra science of Legend would have been a movie that made Matheson proud. I can't believe that Smith's "adaptation" is the one that actually got the title.
LEEE777
LEEE777 - 9/26/2009, 1:33 PM
PHINES @ I AM LEGEND is total sh!Te with the worst CGI men ive ever seen on top lol.

HANCOCK was ten times better! ; D

Hey BlackKnight Returns is supposed to be bad, not that ive seen it lol.
superdog
superdog - 9/26/2009, 1:38 PM
Harrison. I agree completely. Though you shouldn't have given away the ving rames spoiler.
HarrisonBergeron
HarrisonBergeron - 9/26/2009, 1:41 PM
I fixed it, although I think it was sort of obvious, once the climax starts happening it seems so probable that it just isn't all that shocking when it is finally revealed.
superdog
superdog - 9/26/2009, 1:48 PM
Yeah in my review you'll see where I said some of the twist were obvious some not so much. This was one of the ones I thought was obvious. Like u I saw it coming a mile away.
HarrisonBergeron
HarrisonBergeron - 9/26/2009, 2:08 PM
One thing that I was expecting to see and didn't was atrophy. All of these people are laying on their backs 20+ hours a day, yet they can just get up and walk around. They sort of showed Willis having to adapt to being outside, but it seemed more due to his injuries than his sedentary life. This seems like a missed opportunity, especially with the obvious WoW parallels.
superdog
superdog - 9/26/2009, 4:42 PM
Actually I think Willis having trouble outside was cause he hadn't been outside in so long. Not cause of his injuries. He hadn't been physically bumped or heard or seen things with his own senses in so long. And u might be right n the atrophy thing, but thy did show all of them as bein frail, and pale, hair falling out and stuff. That was consistent with not being out side for years.
Phinehas
Phinehas - 9/26/2009, 11:12 PM
I get it Leee, you've got a hard on for Handcock, and hate I Am Legend. Furthermore, movies that parody themselves is getting very old. The economy is not so great for me. I'll save my money.
MarkCassidy
MarkCassidy - 9/27/2009, 8:11 AM
Nice one Pooch, I think I'll skip this one..at the flicks anyway:)

I Am Legend did have the worst cgi I have ever seen(bar GI Joke) but I thought Will Smith was great in it and there were some good bits. Same with Hancock, both should have been much better but not complete crap.
CorndogBurglar
CorndogBurglar - 9/27/2009, 10:03 AM
this just didn't catch my interest. i'll watch it on hbo when it comes out
thwhtGuardian
thwhtGuardian - 9/27/2009, 8:17 PM
For me, I love a good thoughtful scifi, and I loved the GN. I haven't seen this yet, has anyone else who has evver read the comic seen the movie?
dancingmonkey08
dancingmonkey08 - 9/29/2009, 2:59 PM
It was pretty good but the original comic book ending is changed to a I am Legend happy ending unfortunately which was a bit disappointing. But Rosamund Pike is smoking hot, scar or not
View Recorder