STAR WARS: THE ACOLYTE Viewership Suggests Negative Fan Reviews Didn't Negatively Impact Interest

STAR WARS: THE ACOLYTE Viewership Suggests Negative Fan Reviews Didn't Negatively Impact Interest

Despite an influx of negative fan reviews around the time The Acolyte launched on Disney+, new viewership data suggests that did little to negatively impact interest in the show during its first weekend.

By JoshWilding - Jun 20, 2024 05:06 PM EST
Filed Under: Star Wars
Source: SFFGazette.com

While there are those who believe The Acolyte is being "review-bombed," the huge surge of negative verdicts means it now has an Audience Score (14%) on Rotten Tomatoes which is worse than even the hilariously bad Star Wars Holiday Special

Seeing as the show has an 84% score from critics, there's clearly a stark contrast between how critics and fans have responded to the series. However, newly revealed viewership data from Variety (via SFFGazette.com) may paint a very different picture when it comes to whether The Acolyte can be considered a success.

In a Top 10 list which measures the minutes watched by every streaming original TV show between June 7 - June 13, Netflix dominates with 9 titles. 

The likely reason for that is the streamer's tendency to release entire seasons at a time; however, even with only two episodes of The Acolyte available on Disney+, it still managed to reach the #6 spot. 

It appears The Acolyte received a boost from viewers who waited until the weekend to watch it, suggesting the majority weren't swayed by negative fan reviews. If anything, this proves that what happens online occurs in something of an echo chamber, with non-fans largely uninterested in any potential campaigns to "review-bomb" shows (or even what legitimately unhappy fans have to say about continuity and the like). 

Of course, just like a bad movie which earns $1 billion at the box office, this doesn't mean The Acolyte's legitimate critics are wrong. It does, however, suggest there's still a great deal of interest in the latest Star Wars TV show.

"Taking fresh risks with Star Wars lore while having infectious fun playing with the stylistic trappings of a galaxy far, far away," reads Rotten Tomatoes' Critics Consensus, "The Acolyte is a Padawan series with the potential to become a Master."

Check out these statistics below and keep checking back here for more on The Acolyte as we have it.

Screenshot-2024-06-20-at-15-30-33-copy

In The Acolyte, an investigation into a shocking crime spree pits a respected Jedi Master (Lee Jung-jae) against a dangerous warrior from his past (Amandla Stenberg). As more clues emerge, they travel down a dark path where sinister forces reveal all is not what it seems...

The series stars Amandla Stenberg, Lee Jung-jae, Manny Jacinto, Dafne Keen, Charlie Barnett, Jodie Turner-Smith, Rebecca Henderson, Dean-Charles Chapman, Joonas Suotamo, and Carrie-Anne Moss.

The next Star Wars TV series comes from creator and showrunner Leslye Headland (Russian Doll), who also serves as executive producer alongside Kathleen Kennedy, Simon Emanuel, Jeff F. King, and Jason Micallef. Charmaine DeGraté and Kor Adana are the co-executive producers, and Rayne Roberts and Damian Anderson are producing.

Four episodes of The Acolyte are now streaming on Disney+.

THE ACOLYTE Showrunner On Whether [SPOILER] Really Died In Latest Episode And What The Sith Are Really Up To
Related:

THE ACOLYTE Showrunner On Whether [SPOILER] Really Died In Latest Episode And What The Sith Are Really Up To

THE ACOLYTE Showrunner On Whether Mae & Osha Could Be As Powerful As Anakin Skywalker - SPOILERS
Recommended For You:

THE ACOLYTE Showrunner On Whether Mae & Osha Could Be As Powerful As Anakin Skywalker - SPOILERS

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

1 2 3 4 5
Malatrova15
Malatrova15 - 6/20/2024, 5:06 PM
True fans fell in love whit this series fake nostalfans are of no concern
Kronus
Kronus - 6/22/2024, 1:24 AM
@Malatrova15 - Actually . . . true fans know how bad this show is. It's the newbies who don't seem to have a clue. Don't come crying to us (THE ACTUAL TRUE FANS) when this show is cancelled and discarded like the terrible Willow reboot that Lucasfilm also failed at. Nobody but YOU PERSONALLY fell in love with any of this.
Malatrova15
Malatrova15 - 6/22/2024, 1:48 AM
@Kronus - pleasw be civil i be you im a truefan im EL FAN PLEADE this series is the best star wars be civil or dont be
Kronus
Kronus - 6/22/2024, 2:05 AM
@Malatrova15 - You are the crybully trying to insult people and then you cry about civility? What makes you a true fan Ventilador de Mano?
Malatrova15
Malatrova15 - 6/22/2024, 12:40 PM
@Kronus - my stepdad was a true fan from JIMMI saville to Tom Hanks. you are just someone who want the acolyte to fail but bad bews the acolyte is le awesome beo
Gabimaru
Gabimaru - 6/20/2024, 5:07 PM
Of course. They pull put out the victim card. Every. Single. Time. 🙄 How predictable.
Th3Batman
Th3Batman - 6/20/2024, 5:08 PM
Has anyone noticed how desperate this site is to get people to like this show ? It's not happening, move on.
BobbyDrake
BobbyDrake - 6/20/2024, 5:11 PM
@Th3Batman - Josh is just trying to trigger people so that their enforcers can come in and strike people for being upset. He’s just playing the game by the new rules that have been laid out
HistoryofMatt
HistoryofMatt - 6/20/2024, 5:15 PM
@BobbyDrake - Some people have already tried to get people banned based on disagreements, and it hasn't worked because the hall monitor has been preempted from doing so. Disagree. Disagree all day until the cows come home. As long as you don't call people names or curse at people or break any of the clearly defined rules, you're in the clear.

It's made some people big mad that they can't get people banned who don't actually break the rules, but I have to appreciate Nate for being clear about it even if I disagree with the need for censorship.
OleBobbyTiger
OleBobbyTiger - 6/20/2024, 5:18 PM
@Th3Batman - He's reporting on viewership specs. Actual comic book news. Would you prefer another top 8 things we need to see in XYZ list?
OleBobbyTiger
OleBobbyTiger - 6/20/2024, 5:20 PM
@HistoryofMatt - Censorship doesn't exist here. Never has. You can still call people names or curse on the site without getting banned. Happens every day. Just like there was none in the past when they've said they were going to "lay the law down"

If anything is consistent about this site it's we will always have editorial listicles and moderation will always be lacking.
Batmangina
Batmangina - 6/20/2024, 5:26 PM
@OleBobbyTiger - I would like a Top 8 Listicle of the Top 8 things that could be made into Listicles. STAT!!!
MotherGooseUPus
MotherGooseUPus - 6/20/2024, 5:33 PM
@Th3Batman - im watching this show as i thought it would be different and good... its certainly but its f*cking awful. at this point, im in it see where it goes simply out of boredom
HistoryofMatt
HistoryofMatt - 6/20/2024, 5:35 PM
@OleBobbyTiger - Well, to me, name-calling or cursing someone is arguing in bad faith. I may disagree with you and everything you say and everything you believe, but I'm going to try to argue on the merits of the points being made not against the person making them. I'm not perfect. I'm only human. I can make mistakes. However, that is something I will try to do.
BobbyDrake
BobbyDrake - 6/20/2024, 5:36 PM
@HistoryofMatt - Yes, I do think that Nate has been fair with the way he’s handling it. It’s just that people are going to be more inclined to call names when they’re upset. Hence why Josh keeps posting all these articles. I just saw someone in another thread get a warning for calling Josh names, and while that is against the rules I do believe that he was baited into doing that. This whole moderator thing has emboldened Josh and his lackeys. I knew this whole situation was going to spiral out of control like this
Th3Batman
Th3Batman - 6/20/2024, 5:38 PM
@BobbyDrake - Does anyone ever enforce those ? I seem to see rules show up every few months, but nothing changes.
Itwasme
Itwasme - 6/20/2024, 5:44 PM
@BobbyDrake - sorry, but this site runs on content and the more content they can get together the better. This has nothing to do with baiting, this has everything to do with the site trying to be as successful as it can be. It's not about you, me, or anyone else. Content is king here and show viewership stats is good content even if you don't like the numbers.
BobbyDrake
BobbyDrake - 6/20/2024, 5:46 PM
@Th3Batman - I mean I’ve seen strikes and warnings thrown around. Not sure if anyone’s struck out yet. What I have seen is people trying to provoke and then tattling when they get a reaction from someone. The volatility has definitely increased in a major way since the moderator volunteered himself to attempt to censor the site
BobbyDrake
BobbyDrake - 6/20/2024, 5:48 PM
@Itwasme - User Comment Image
HistoryofMatt
HistoryofMatt - 6/20/2024, 5:57 PM
@BobbyDrake - Well, my attitude in regards to that is: Don't call names. That isn't difficult.

My problem is not with that. My problem is with people who believe that "decency" means agreeing with their funhouse mirror point of view, and "indecency" means disagreeing with them. Dude the last few days has literally been making that argument trying to get me banned, crying that he's victim of my point of view. Not me calling him names or cursing him or breaking any rules at all. Just my point of view being different than his, and calling him out for continuing to slander and lie about other commenters here and elsewhere with no proof at all for anything he says.

When people call for the hall monitor because you demand they show proof for calling people bigots and whatnot, you know what they're really all about and if it's one thing they can't deal with, it's being told to produce proof of the awful things they say.
Vigor
Vigor - 6/20/2024, 6:08 PM
@HistoryofMatt - now I know you ain't talking bout me

User Comment Image
TK420
TK420 - 6/20/2024, 6:09 PM
@Th3Batman - Whatever their feelings, one way or the other, probably doesn't matter to them.
BobbyDrake
BobbyDrake - 6/20/2024, 6:14 PM
@HistoryofMatt - Yessir, I agree completely!!! I don’t call people names nor would I, and I haven’t received any warnings or anything even though people have tried to make that happen. But, not everyone has that level of self control. I think if they want to calm things down around here they need to start with Josh. But they can’t because they need him.

And yeah, I know exactly who you’re talking about. The way he acts is ridiculous!!!
BobbyDrake
BobbyDrake - 6/20/2024, 6:15 PM
@Vigor - No, he’s not talking about you!!!
HistoryofMatt
HistoryofMatt - 6/20/2024, 6:24 PM
@Vigor - Nope. The other guy. You thought I called Josh a lot of names that are often reserved for me and others because we have the temerity to not like Disney Star Wars. You thought I broke the rules.
OleBobbyTiger
OleBobbyTiger - 6/20/2024, 6:29 PM
@HistoryofMatt - oh hey man. I’m not accusing you. Just making a general comment on the general management of the site.
HistoryofMatt
HistoryofMatt - 6/20/2024, 6:33 PM
@OleBobbyTiger - That's not what I was saying. I didn't think you were. Just trying to better explain my point of view on it all.
philinterrupted
philinterrupted - 6/20/2024, 7:00 PM
@BobbyDrake - Josh is just giving you what you want. Rage bait. You click on his articles because they make you mad enough to comment or at the very least make you want to see who is. It’s a vicious cycle.

Don’t give Josh the power by giving him your engagement.
BobbyDrake
BobbyDrake - 6/20/2024, 7:19 PM
@philinterrupted - Yes, that’s what I said!!! Thanks
TheFinestSmack
TheFinestSmack - 6/20/2024, 9:18 PM
@HistoryofMatt - often, the name calling starts before any of us even say anything lol. An author will write an article about a divisive topic, then the usual users say "Here come all the incel bigots!"
HistoryofMatt
HistoryofMatt - 6/20/2024, 9:44 PM
@TheFinestSmack - Even before that. Josh has a nasty habit of calling anyone who leaves bad reviews for shows like this or doesn't like shows like this much the same in the story he's written.
FireandBlood
FireandBlood - 6/21/2024, 4:00 AM
@Th3Batman - I’ve noticed how desperate some vocal “fans” have been at trying to convince everyone that this show is the worst show ever made, that’s for sure. Evidently, it’s not working…
Th3Batman
Th3Batman - 6/21/2024, 4:51 AM
@FireandBlood - I highly doubt it's the worst show ever put to screen, but I doubt it's any good either. It's probably just another dull show from Disney, not better or worse than what they've already been doing. With that said, I'd be lying if I said the increased hate wasn't due to the lead being a black woman.
FireandBlood
FireandBlood - 6/21/2024, 5:02 AM
@Th3Batman - It’s another Disney+ show, there’s no denying that. Better than your average sci-fi/superhero show from
most other networks, with high production values that’s enjoyable if you’re still invested in the franchise, but it’s no Andor that stands above the pack and goes beyond of what you expect a Disney+ show to be.

But you’d be correct about why the hate is overblown and forced. That, and a bunch of other factors that have little to nothing to do with the actual content of the show.
Ghoul
Ghoul - 6/21/2024, 5:15 AM
@HistoryofMatt - I have noticed that occasionally he does make his view of who he thinks is right very clear in the article wording I have found that inappropriate
Kronus
Kronus - 6/22/2024, 2:01 AM
@FireandBlood - This show is a failure by any metric you want to judge it by. So you like it. Good. Maybe you aren't really interested in Star Wars? Just a thought.
Kronus
Kronus - 6/22/2024, 2:08 AM
@Th3Batman - I don't know. I can't think of a show that is better than this. I'd say it's equally as bad as the failed Willow reboot Lucasfilm wants you to forget about.
FireandBlood
FireandBlood - 6/22/2024, 4:48 AM
@Kronus - I like all Star Wars, even the poorly made prequels, so maybe in actual fact, it is you who’s not really interested in Star Wars. Did you ever think about that?
Nomis929
Nomis929 - 6/20/2024, 5:09 PM
"Hate" Watching A show is still watching it.
Goldboink
Goldboink - 6/20/2024, 6:43 PM
@Nomis929 -

User Comment Image
1 2 3 4 5

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.

View Recorder