MORBIUS: Even With Very Negative Reviews, Thursday Previews Point To A $33 Million - $40 Million Opening

MORBIUS: Even With Very Negative Reviews, Thursday Previews Point To A $33 Million - $40 Million Opening

As we right this, Morbius has a lowly 15% on Rotten Tomatoes, but it appears the Living Vampire may be review proof as solid Thursday night preview screenings point to a moderately successful opening...

By JoshWilding - Apr 01, 2022 11:04 AM EST
Filed Under: Morbius
Source: The Hollywood Reporter

With a marketing campaign that heavily teased Spider-Man's involvement in Morbius and branded the Living Vampire a "New Marvel Legend," perhaps we shouldn't be surprised that the movie isn't flopping as hard at the box office as it is with critics. Despite boasting a 15% score on Rotten Tomatoes, the Sony Pictures blockbuster earned $5.7 million in Thursday previews at the U.S. box office.

Now, the latest estimates point to a $33 million - $40+ million opening weekend. That may be a drop from the $50 million predictions we heard last month, but it's far from a terrible result for a movie that cost only $75 million to produce. It's also only slightly less than Shazam!'s $5.9 million in 2019, and that ended up grossing a solid $53.5 million during its first weekend.

At the end of the day, word of mouth will be key. In March 2016, Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice opened to record-breaking numbers before plummeting in its second weekend of release. Ultimately, it would be considered something of a box office disappointment by Warner Bros., and it's worth noting that this Thursday previews number is quite a bit below what Venom: Let There Be Carnage earned.

Only time will tell what happens from here, but negative reviews didn't hurt Venom 2 movie or Uncharted. Whether it's the Marvel branding, Jared Leto's involvement, or the fact that filmgoers just want new content, poor reviews have failed to put a stake through the heart of this vampire's box office chances.

"Jared Leto’s transformation makes for compelling viewing," we said in our review"but the Living Vampire can’t elevate a disappointing story that serves as a powerful, dare we say terrifying, reminder that Spider-Man is better off (and safer) in the MCU with Marvel Studios."

Check out our exclusive interview with Morbius star Jared Leto in the player below:
 

MORBIUS Star Tyrese Shares Disappointment With Reduced Role And Confirms Major Fight Scenes Were Cut
Related:

MORBIUS Star Tyrese Shares Disappointment With Reduced Role And Confirms Major Fight Scenes Were Cut

MORBIUS: Michael Keaton On His Vulture Cameo: I’m Nodding Like I Know What The F*** They’re Talking About
Recommended For You:

MORBIUS: Michael Keaton On His Vulture Cameo: "I’m Nodding Like I Know What The F*** They’re Talking About"

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

1 2
Crtdacct2say
Crtdacct2say - 4/1/2022, 11:32 AM
People who wasted money on this are quite the fool, an April Fool as it were.
dragon316
dragon316 - 4/1/2022, 2:37 PM
@Crtdacct2say - I saw it probably me not being morbious thought it was ok better than captain marvel and inform war for me
mastakilla39
mastakilla39 - 4/1/2022, 4:15 PM
@Crtdacct2say - Terrible CBMs opening big is not a surprise. Hell DCEU made a bunch of shitty films that opened bigger like Suicide Squad, BVS, and Justice League.

If the MCU won't make any terrible films let Sony do it, more money for them lol.
CaptainMexico
CaptainMexico - 4/2/2022, 12:31 AM
@dragon316 - that’s some good engrish
Whaley87
Whaley87 - 4/2/2022, 2:42 AM
@dragon316 - You're lying, you haven't seen it. And if you genuinely think this is better than Infinity War, then you're an even bigger troll than we all took you for.
TheWalkingCuban
TheWalkingCuban - 4/1/2022, 11:33 AM
Thing is you don’t need Spiderman to have action, interesting characters, jokes that land, decent effects, good acting, so there was still hope for this movie. They didn’t have to leave every box unchecked LOL
GhostDog
GhostDog - 4/1/2022, 11:35 AM
Chappers
Chappers - 4/1/2022, 11:37 AM
Hard to even believe those numbers, seen endless photos on Twitter today of empty theatres with 1-2 people in each screening

Probably helped them plastering the word Marvel all over the marketing.
I've also seen a concerning amount of critic reviews that don't know this isn't an MCU project and described it as "one of the MCU's weakest offerings"
kRAVENkIaw
kRAVENkIaw - 4/1/2022, 11:37 AM
Oh, joy.
MosquitoFarmer
MosquitoFarmer - 4/1/2022, 11:40 AM
Is the April's Fools joke this entire movie?
TheWalkingCuban
TheWalkingCuban - 4/1/2022, 11:48 AM
@MosquitoFarmer - it’s not real it’s not real

Evansly
Evansly - 4/1/2022, 12:16 PM
@TheWalkingCuban - What is this gif from?
TheWalkingCuban
TheWalkingCuban - 4/1/2022, 12:25 PM
@Evansly - The Cell, there was once this girl Jenny from the block, a fly girl turned actress. I liked a bunch of her movies, especially especially out of sight. But then she was eaten alive by J Lo
Evansly
Evansly - 4/1/2022, 12:33 PM
@TheWalkingCuban - Lmao, thank you!
TheWalkingCuban
TheWalkingCuban - 4/1/2022, 1:33 PM
@Waddles - awesome movie. Here’s what you call a list:

Selena
Anaconda
In Living Color
Enough
Out of Sight
The Cell
Money Train
Monster in Law
Angel Eyes
Hustlers (not nostalgic to me yet but she killed it as basically herself)
TheWalkingCuban
TheWalkingCuban - 4/1/2022, 1:40 PM
@Waddles - ok maybe it is worth a watch after all, it’s the completist in me. Honorable mention maid in America, pretty sure it was funny even if I didn’t wanna admit it to my wife (ex now so I can watch it without fakehating it) also Mi familia. Small role but I loved that movie
TheWalkingCuban
TheWalkingCuban - 4/1/2022, 11:41 AM
Oh this movie’s box office legs will be spoken of around campfires to scare children, camp counselors, and undying machete wielding hell beasts
AmazingFILMporg
AmazingFILMporg - 4/1/2022, 11:41 AM
I'm contributing to that 30ish million🙆





You're welcome fandome 🥲
lordSTALE
lordSTALE - 4/1/2022, 11:46 AM
@AmazingFILMporg -
AmazingFILMporg
AmazingFILMporg - 4/1/2022, 11:47 AM
@lordSTALE -


I'm sorry but not really❤️🙆❤️
Spidey91
Spidey91 - 4/1/2022, 12:29 PM
@AmazingFILMporg -
WruceBayne
WruceBayne - 4/1/2022, 12:43 PM
@AmazingFILMporg - despite all the negative reviews I still went to go see it last night. In my opinion it’s not a dumpster fire like a lot people who haven’t seen it claims but in the same vein it also wasn’t a blockbuster. It’s an okay, something to just look at movie.
bobevanz
bobevanz - 4/1/2022, 11:43 AM
It's from the people like us, expect a crazy drop off next week. No way word of mouth will spread like wildfire, unless the world IS full of idiots lol I give it a 3, F that fart poof cgi that's everywhere
Starscream24
Starscream24 - 4/1/2022, 5:23 PM
@bobevanz - 3/10 right?
lordSTALE
lordSTALE - 4/1/2022, 11:44 AM
DrReedRichards
DrReedRichards - 4/1/2022, 11:45 AM
I'm legit surprised by how surprised people are that it's making these numbers.

Fellow nerds, please, I urge you to remember that general audiences are not as well-versed in what is MCU and what isn't. SONY's marketing did its trick. That's what we should get from this.
lordSTALE
lordSTALE - 4/1/2022, 11:49 AM
@DrReedRichards - To be fair though, $33M-$40M isn't that good

That's not much more than what The Suicide Squad opened with and that was released on HBO Max the same day and date 🤷🏽‍♂️
KWilly
KWilly - 4/1/2022, 12:00 PM
@lordSTALE - Morbius was way cheaper to film tho than The Suicide Squad.
lordSTALE
lordSTALE - 4/1/2022, 12:32 PM
@KWilly - Being marketed and delayed for two years is very expensive. Also don't believe the production cost Sony just leaked this week when they realized this movie was going to be torn to shreds by critics

At the end of the day, a $33M opening for a blockbuster is really bad
r4dagast
r4dagast - 4/1/2022, 11:46 AM
I don’t know why any real comic book movie fan would want to go to this and help Sony to continue putting out this kind of crap
1 2
View Recorder