ETERNALS Is Currently Marvel Studios' Most Poorly Reviewed Movie On Rotten Tomatoes

ETERNALS Is Currently Marvel Studios' Most Poorly Reviewed Movie On Rotten Tomatoes

Well, we didn't see this coming. Despite Oscar-winner Chloé Zhao being at the helm, Eternals hasn't struck a chord with critics and is currently Marvel Studios' lowest-rated movie on Rotten Tomatoes...

By JoshWilding - Oct 27, 2021 03:10 PM EST
Filed Under: Eternals

Unlike Warner Bros. and its DC Extended Universe, Marvel Studios has never had a "Rotten" movie on Rotten Tomatoes. That's an impressive feat when you take into account that the Marvel Cinematic Universe launched way back in 2008, and while Eternals isn't on track to earn the dreaded green splat, it's a long way from "Certified Fresh" status right now. 

With a total of 81 reviews counted, Chloé Zhao's first blockbuster has a score of 65% on the review aggregator. That makes it the "worst" reviewed Marvel Studios movie on the site, with Thor: The Dark World at 66% and The Incredible Hulk's 67%. From there, the scores jump up to "Certified Fresh" status with Iron Man 2 (72%) and Avengers: Age of Ultron (76%). 

The current Critics Consensus reads: "An ambitious superhero epic that soars more often than it strains, Eternals takes the MCU in intriguing -- and occasionally confounding -- new directions."

Most fans anticipated Eternals being a masterpiece that would change the game for Marvel Studios, but that certainly doesn't seem to be the consensus among critics. Ultimately, box office takings are what matter most, but if the response isn't as enthusiastic as the one Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings received...well, we'd hate to think that's it for these characters. 

Even if a sequel ends up off the table, we're sure a place could be found for the Eternals. Throw in the fact that the MCU has enough good faith with moviegoers to ensure that even a "Rotten" movie would probably still be a hit, and we're betting Kevin Feige isn't sweating this too much. It is, however, a little surprising.

Eternals will arrive in theaters on November 5. 

RUMOR: We May Know When We'll See The ETERNALS In The MCU Again
Related:

RUMOR: We May Know When We'll See The ETERNALS In The MCU Again

ETERNALS Star Kit Harington Says He's No Longer Interested In Heroic Roles After GAME OF THRONES
Recommended For You:

ETERNALS Star Kit Harington Says He's No Longer "Interested In Heroic Roles" After GAME OF THRONES

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
ComicBookPsycho
ComicBookPsycho - 10/27/2021, 3:02 PM
Oof
soberchimera
soberchimera - 10/27/2021, 3:02 PM
And yet everyone on this site will suddenly turn on the exact same critics that gave Shang-Chi positive reviews.
Feralwookiee
Feralwookiee - 10/27/2021, 3:06 PM
@soberchimera - You aren't wrong there. Again, these are just OPINIONS. Unfortunately, far too many "fans" are quite fickle these days.
mastakilla39
mastakilla39 - 10/27/2021, 3:16 PM
Or oddly enough agree with them. Thor 2, Iron Man 2, Incredible Hulk, etc. were all just
Juggernaut2021
Juggernaut2021 - 10/27/2021, 4:55 PM
@mastakilla39 - and GOTG2, Iron Man 3, FFH, Antman & Wasp. Think I’d even throw Endgame & Black Widow in there.
Don’t get me wrong. I am a Marvel Fanboy and enjoy them all.
My tops:
WINTER SOLDIER
CIVIL WAR
IRON MAN
ENDGAME
AVENGERS (forgiving Caps outfit)
GOTG
RAGNAROK
DR STRANGE
ANTMAN
TIH
I am in the minority that likes TIH version much more than the MCU version.
Some are not the best cookies I’ve ever had but I still enjoyed them.
dragon316
dragon316 - 10/27/2021, 7:08 PM
@soberchimera - those are same people who can’t make decision in life without critics high score that’s sad to adults
PeterDarker121
PeterDarker121 - 10/27/2021, 8:24 PM
@Juggernaut2021 - ...always remember, bro: Coulson designed Cap's first Avengers uniform...

...he wore it for HIM, bro!!

;^)
DarkDetective
DarkDetective - 10/28/2021, 1:35 AM
@soberchimera - Shang Chi's first half was very entertaining, and that bus fight:EPIC. But after they arrive to that magical town (forgot the name) it turned into one of the most formulaic movies ive seen in a very long time. I dont really know what to think of it as a whole,but its definetively not even close to the first Iron Man's level, nor "one of Marvel's best" lol
OptimusCrime
OptimusCrime - 10/27/2021, 3:03 PM
Oh wow...never thought tbis would happen.
noahthegrand
noahthegrand - 10/27/2021, 3:04 PM
It sounds interesting and completely different than what come before. It’s made by a very talented director, and I can’t name the number of great movies that were originally panned upon their release
Ha1frican
Ha1frican - 10/27/2021, 3:05 PM
Still excited
Feralwookiee
Feralwookiee - 10/27/2021, 3:05 PM
I wasn't too excited by the pre production photos or the trailers and it felt like it was missing that Kirby epicness. I'll probably check it out for free eventually, but I'm in no hurry. Hopefully, Marvel's cosmic side can be focused on a bit more in GOTG3 and maybe an eventual Nova flick.

Off topic: More details in the Baldwin shooting. It seems the revolver was not checked after a break and that several folks who should have known better dropped the ball.
https://www.usatoday.com/story/entertainment/movies/2021/10/27/rust-shooting-santa-fe-sheriffs-alec-baldwin-live-round/8560736002/
ModHaterSLADE
ModHaterSLADE - 10/27/2021, 3:06 PM
Gonna reserve judgement until I see it, but I can see why some would be turned off by it because it looks different in tone to the usual MCU offerings.
DannRamm113
DannRamm113 - 10/27/2021, 3:07 PM
I'm curious what makes this more divisive than other MCU movies. Probably gonna skip the theaters, I have been going too much recently (gonna end this month with Last Night in Soho).

Hopefully Chloe Zhao has another oscar contender in her future, just would hate for her to be seen as a "fluke" or whatever
SpideyPuffsMJ
SpideyPuffsMJ - 10/27/2021, 3:07 PM
Oh no!

Unites
Unites - 10/27/2021, 3:07 PM
I still look forward to it! To me, the trailers looked really refreshing and beautiful. Eternals seems a hard comic to bring to the big screen, given the amount of characters and history you have to introduce. Doing that with Chloe's signature style seems like a nice way to do that.
rebellion
rebellion - 10/27/2021, 3:07 PM
it definitely IS on track towards the splat since the score keeps getting lower and theres like 300 reviews to go. i think MCU is allowed to have a rotten film after 13 years of critical hits. it happens. big deal.
Feralwookiee
Feralwookiee - 10/27/2021, 4:16 PM
@Waddles - As a lifelong Pats fan (I remember the bad times before Brady) that gif is still sweet!
Feralwookiee
Feralwookiee - 10/27/2021, 4:26 PM
@Waddles - I'm happy for you guys in Tampa...and we're back to sucking. Lol
Arthorious
Arthorious - 10/27/2021, 5:39 PM
@Feralwookiee - as an Atlanta fan I smh at the Falcons… still shaking. Kudos Tom
Feralwookiee
Feralwookiee - 10/27/2021, 5:55 PM
@Waddles - Shit. I remember when they had the old creamsicles. 😜

I love the old school red white and blue Pats uni's, but our 90's newer outfits were just goofy with the BIG flying Elvis's on the shoulders.

Feralwookiee
Feralwookiee - 10/27/2021, 5:57 PM
@Arthorious - I know you already know this, but the Falcons HAD us in that 28-3 SB.
Ryan is still a solid QB. I just don't get why they let Julio Jones go.
Arthorious
Arthorious - 10/28/2021, 12:57 PM
@Feralwookiee - I know a lot of it dealt with management issues for Jones, but o have no spite against him and wish him all the best
DoubleD
DoubleD - 10/27/2021, 3:08 PM
Reading all the reviews good and bad Marvel Studios could have their first Rotten Tomato with Eternals.

noahthegrand
noahthegrand - 10/27/2021, 3:10 PM
If anything, this makes me want to see it more
SpideyPuffsMJ
SpideyPuffsMJ - 10/27/2021, 3:10 PM
Why all the excuses already?? I feel like if the critics are positive, they’re correct, but if they’re negative (god forbid), they’re wrong. See for yourself obviously, but I’m not totally shocked. This movie looks very boring based on the advertising.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
View Recorder