AVATAR DAY Footage Hype & Review!

AVATAR DAY Footage Hype & Review!

UnCanny News' Jon gives us the scoop on the Avatar footage, the experience, and what we should all be looking forward to this coming December!

By SciFiNut - Aug 22, 2009 01:08 PM EST
Filed Under: Sci-Fi
Source: Jon@UnCanny



DAVE OUT

X-MEN's Jennifer Lawrence To Star In A24 Graphic Novel Adaptation WHY DON'T YOU LOVE ME?
Related:

X-MEN's Jennifer Lawrence To Star In A24 Graphic Novel Adaptation WHY DON'T YOU LOVE ME?

TIME BANDITS: Lisa Kudrow Leads The Team & Taika Waititi Is The Supreme Being In Fun First Trailer
Recommended For You:

TIME BANDITS: Lisa Kudrow Leads The Team & Taika Waititi Is The Supreme Being In Fun First Trailer

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

1 2
dukester9
dukester9 - 8/22/2009, 1:48 PM
Movie looks cool.
SciFiNut
SciFiNut - 8/22/2009, 1:51 PM
Hell yeah it does - Haha "Star Wars on Crack", love it!
AVEN
AVEN - 8/22/2009, 9:24 PM
For me only look "so-so", Great CGI don't mean a good movie, it is just my opinion guys....
InTylerWeTrust
InTylerWeTrust - 8/23/2009, 12:29 AM
I'm going to see the movie, but I'm not sure it'll be that great. The consensus on the Avatar Day footage is that the CG isn't revolutionary, but it's pretty.

They can't rely on the CGI for the whole film. Story and performances will make or break the movie.

As AVEN said, great CGI doesn't automatically mean the movie will be awesome. If the story and characters aren't good, the film will greatly suffer. CGI can only go so far.
SciFiNut
SciFiNut - 8/23/2009, 1:13 AM
Very, very true - and fortunately the scenes within the preview each treated us to character building - so that is a good sign. Hopefully, we're going to give a shit about Worthington as a blue alien. If not, this movie will tank. Cameron knows his emotional strings, tho - consider his credits if you will. I am hopeful, and either way I cant wait to sit thru an alien world as beautiful as this one in 3D. That alone will be worth it - the spectacle! For me, anyway.
InTylerWeTrust
InTylerWeTrust - 8/23/2009, 2:00 AM
The characters need to be great in order for the viewer to connect with the film, and make it a bit more organic and, dare I say, human.
NataliaRomanov
NataliaRomanov - 8/23/2009, 2:00 AM
I think it looks coolio!
InTylerWeTrust
InTylerWeTrust - 8/23/2009, 3:14 AM
But what else is new, amirite? ;)
JoshWilding
JoshWilding - 8/23/2009, 4:01 AM
i saw the trailer last night and IMO the CGI looks very cartoony and pretty fake. ill probably go and see it just to see what the hype is all about but im not in the least bit excited because right now it looks no more special than any other kiddie CGI movie. :(

and has Worthington ever been any good in anything!? ;)
DDD
DDD - 8/23/2009, 4:29 AM
Hey @Josh, @Tyler, @Tea, my Cap Oz is finally on Fanfic!
cindar
cindar - 8/23/2009, 5:14 AM
everyones saying the footage is brilliant and clear on imax and the 3d is awsome.
well done james cameron, you've made a film thats brilliant....only if you watch it in 3D on an imax cinema screen.
superdog
superdog - 8/23/2009, 6:46 AM
I actually think this movie will suck. Big mistake to build up so much hype. Reminds me of king kong or phantom menace......hype hype hype, then a mediocre movie. They are going too far overboard with the revelutionary change the fuTure of film making crap. People will be let down.
TheFulcrum
TheFulcrum - 8/23/2009, 7:41 AM
The movie is visually stunning if you've only seen the 2D trailer it doesnt do it justice. All the clips from the 15 min screening was extended clips from the trailer which is clips from the first half of the movie. The acting and the voice over work seemed fine. If anything go see this movie for the visual 3D artwork that it is.
FateSucks
FateSucks - 8/23/2009, 8:17 AM
I just don't get why people are all gaga over this load of crap? Cameron has made 2 good films, a couple of OK ones and the rest is garbage.

Are you all OK with being spoon fed crap and told it's caviar?
MarkCassidy
MarkCassidy - 8/23/2009, 9:42 AM
I think it looks like a visually stunning, epic....CARTOON! I may change my mind when i see some of it in 3d but as it stands this has to be looking like the most over hyped movies of all time.
superdog
superdog - 8/23/2009, 10:03 AM
Agreed!
Redhood
Redhood - 8/23/2009, 10:38 AM
I was able to watch the select scenes and I thought It looked visually amazing. The 3-D helps a lot more than it should. By that I mean if it didn't rely on that it could potentially be boring. They really didn't show much of what the story is about, if the story holds as strong as the visuals then it certainly has potential. If it's all style and no substance then prepare for a big bag of coals come christmas time.
cindar
cindar - 8/23/2009, 11:21 AM
cameron has been working on this for 4 years, stating youve never seen anything like it. yet the same time the trailer for the surrogates is released as is bacically the same thing, and a bit more interesting personally.
YermoD
YermoD - 8/23/2009, 11:25 AM
If you haven't seen the IMAX footage and just base your opinion on the trailer you're missing the point and you don't know what you're talking about. I was there and couldn't believe what I was seeing. Forget about the trailer. So tired of all the hate, especially from people who haven't seen the footage the way it's supposed to be seen. You're like those religious idiots who picket movies that don't support their world view, but when asked, of course they never even saw it. See it first, then you can at least make an intelligent argument.
MarkCassidy
MarkCassidy - 8/23/2009, 11:40 AM
WTF are you on about? Forget about the trailer!! Yeah i guess your right i mean its just ,THE TRAILER!!!. So i didn't see all the 3d hooplah yet, i did state that i may change my mind when i do, but i can't see how much more photo realistic it could possibly make that CGI. And photo realistic is what Cameron said it would appear to be did he not??
InTylerWeTrust
InTylerWeTrust - 8/23/2009, 11:44 AM
And you've only seen 15 minutes of it. You also have to see it and then you can make an intelligent argument about why it's awesome.
SciFiNut
SciFiNut - 8/23/2009, 12:09 PM
Well the good thing about the vid above is that it's addressing what the preview was for - the display of the spectacle and 3D. If you guys havent seen the 3D version, then yes - you're missing some of the hype. Because the screening I went to blew me away as well.

But it is WAAAAAY too soon to be summing up this film as "super epic" or "awesome", and I dont think thats what everyone is trying to do. But is it so bad for people to get excited over something original, creative, and new like this? Yeah, there's a 50% chance it'll blow hard ones, but we dont know yet. Not everyone is going to like it, thats for sure. But some of us will. Just like with everything else.

So here's to hoping!
InTylerWeTrust
InTylerWeTrust - 8/23/2009, 12:23 PM
The story really isn't that original, as teabag said.
Minotauro
Minotauro - 8/23/2009, 12:32 PM
@ Teabag, Rorshach01, superdog - I think yall are pretty much riding on the Johnny Raincloud bandwaggon!?...agreed?
MarkCassidy
MarkCassidy - 8/23/2009, 2:53 PM
Yes Minotauro, I can't speak for the other guys but i know that i always base my opinion on either what the majority thinks..or those that would like to think they are cool for going against the grain. I never just say what i think..oh wait, reverse all that!

The story is not original at all. man goes to planet as part of a mission to wipe out or capture an alien race, falls in love with one and ends up becoming one of them and fighting alongside his new found friends against his old ones.

Dances With Wolves.
Minotauro
Minotauro - 8/23/2009, 3:43 PM
@ Rorschach01, Teabag - Yall guys are crazy!! Lol.. Rorschach If I was you, I'll give this movie a chance just for the sake of it being entertaining cause I know It'll be..Teabag your response I don't know? You sound like you've seen it, and still dislike it!...
z3ro
z3ro - 8/23/2009, 4:03 PM
YOU GUYS ARE A BUNCH OF PICKY DIVAS. UR WORSE THAN A FEMALE.
JoshWilding
JoshWilding - 8/23/2009, 4:42 PM
z3ro & Minotauro: CMB's new resident retards!
padidas
padidas - 8/23/2009, 4:44 PM
I rarely get a chance to comment on anything because, Ror, you always say exactly what I'm thinking.
InTylerWeTrust
InTylerWeTrust - 8/23/2009, 5:00 PM
And it seems like some people are deterimined to absolutely love the film and claim it is awesome before they've even seen it. It goes both ways.
superdog
superdog - 8/23/2009, 5:23 PM
Maybe that's how tebag hur his back jumpin on the bandwagon. I mean, me tea ror we've always agreed on every movie. Maybe were actually just one guy with multiple online I.d.'s. Kinda like lee77. Think about it.......

Ror@ I got another one for ya, pocohantas.
MarkCassidy
MarkCassidy - 8/23/2009, 5:32 PM
Awwww, poor Minotauro! Did someone say something bad about the ickle movie you have for your Avatar? People have different opinions my friend, you should know that by now and stop with the stupid, childish name calling of people you don't even know!

Yes! We are all one!..or, we just all make sense! Padidas, a man with impeccable thoughts!;)

Oh yeah, forgot about Pocahontas! Look the movie could be [frick]ing great, all im saying is that it doesn't look great from what Iv seen so far..which is a cartoon about blue aliens.
Minotauro
Minotauro - 8/23/2009, 5:52 PM
Awwww, Ror If your offended so easily by what I said? then my opinion must be true...It was no offense to nobody. I was just stating the facts. Besides hater opinions are overrated including "attention to detail" critics. Yes, I agree the Na'vi characters look silly, but your going to need more to ride on than that to bash a movie..

Besides that comment was to people like Joshw24 who feel the need to leave a immature comment and actually direct it at someone on the site!..Following me?!..
InTylerWeTrust
InTylerWeTrust - 8/23/2009, 5:57 PM
And people need more to ride on than the fact that James Cameron is directing it to praise a movie. Many people are blindly saying this movie will be perfect and it will be the best movie ever.
superdog
superdog - 8/23/2009, 6:10 PM
Minotauro@ Name calling doesn't have to be directed at one person. Your wide swatch comparing us "haters" to that long diatribe you wrote was directed at a group of people. Which is actually worse. It never amazes me when people come to a website where people or supposed to, in fact are encouraged to leave thier opinion about the topic, and then bash them for it. If that's what your here to do then I respectfully request you to PISS OFF AND GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!
Minotauro
Minotauro - 8/23/2009, 6:14 PM
@ InTylerWeTrust82 - It's best not to judge a movie off the teaser trailer, or any trailer for that matter. We live in a time of dissapointments left and right. Yes, I'm a James Cameron follower,(not a fan) and the movie is way overhyped! And It could be in the best category of films(or the worst). Look at the Dark Knight, I know alot said they didn't want a actor who was pitching in his same/sex oscar worthy picture?!..Look how that turned out!
InTylerWeTrust
InTylerWeTrust - 8/23/2009, 6:26 PM
My main point is that you shouldn't call people who have a negative view of the film at the moment idiots, when many people jump to the conclusion that Avatar will be completely awesome and that there is no way it will be bad.

Like I have said before, I am going to see Avatar, but I don't know if it will be great like people claim it will be.

Minotauro
Minotauro - 8/23/2009, 6:39 PM
Well @InTylerWeTrust82 - I understand, but some people(like you said before) judge a movie that they didn't get to see on Aug. 21st. They feel the need to judge the movie on how they would compare it to other movies. That's why you never rate a movie on it's trailer. Will it be great as people say it'll be? Yes cause I'm one of those people who actually saw 15-20 minutes of it. If you ain't a "overrated attention to detail critic". Then this movie will be epic in a avid fans eyes..

@Superdog - Who pissed in your cheerios?
InTylerWeTrust
InTylerWeTrust - 8/23/2009, 6:53 PM
You shouldn't rate a movie on how good it's trailer was, but you should make some judgement on it. It doesn't make sense to me to not make any sort of judgement from a trailer.

Many people who have seen the Avatar Day preview have had some mixed feelings on it.

I'm not an attention to detail critic, I usually like movies critics pan, such as comedies and films like Taken or Transformers 2. However, the movie looks unimpressive to me, and I am not hyped up to see it. Plus, the way the story is being summarized, it sounds unoriginal and taking many plot elements from successful movies, including Dances With Wolves, Pocahontas, Ferngully (that one wasn't successful), the Matrix, and Battle For Terra. Plot is one of, if not the most, important factors of a good film. I don't want to see an unoriginal, collage of different plot points from other movies mashed into one.
superdog
superdog - 8/23/2009, 6:57 PM
Minotaur@You did. People can watch a trailer and form an opinion about how the movie looks. There's nothing wronG with getting a preconcieved idea of a movie based on the advertising. That's the whole frigen point of advertising. People can say I THINK this movie will be good or I THINK this movie bad. Your right if people say the movie IS bad or IS good when they haven't seen it thier stupid. But having an up front opinion is ok. And you coming on here bashing people for there opinions is uncalled for. Cherios or not.:(
1 2
View Recorder