MEGALOPOLIS Reviews Land As Francis Ford Coppola's Sci-Fi Epic Hits Rotten Tomatoes With 50%

MEGALOPOLIS Reviews Land As Francis Ford Coppola's Sci-Fi Epic Hits Rotten Tomatoes With 50% MEGALOPOLIS Reviews Land As Francis Ford Coppola's Sci-Fi Epic Hits Rotten Tomatoes With 50%

The first reviews for Francis Ford Coppola's Megalopolis have landed following the movie's world premiere at the Cannes Film Festival last night...

By MarkCassidy - May 17, 2024 06:05 AM EST
Filed Under: Sci-Fi
Source: Via SFF Gazette

Francis Ford Coppola's self-funded passion-project, Megalopolis, screened at the Cannes Film Festival last night, and the first reviews for the sci-fi epic have now been shared online.

Depending on which critics you choose to trust, the movie is either a masterpiece, an unmitigated disaster, or somewhere in between!

Despite reports of audiences giving the film a 10-minute standing ovation, reviews have been decidedly mixed, which is represented by an early Rotten Tomatoes score of 50%.

Only 22 verdicts have been added so far, so this score is sure to change when press screening take place down the line. But with such a polarizing reaction, we don't anticipate it fluctuating too much.

Have a read through some of the reviews at the links below.

"An accident destroys a New York City-like metropolis already in decay. Caesar, an idealist, aims to rebuild the city as a sustainable utopia, while the venal mayor, Frank Cicero, has other plans. Coming between the opposing men and their visions is Frank’s socialite daughter, Julia. Tired of the attention and power she was born with, Julia searches for her life’s meaning."

Megalopolis stars Adam Driver, Nathalie Emmanuel, Jon Voight, Laurence Fishburne, Aubrey Plaza, Shia LaBeouf, Jason Schwartzman, Grace VanderWaal, Kathryn Hunter, Talia Shire, Dustin Hoffman, and D.B. Sweeney.

Donald Sutherland, Star Of THE HUNGER GAMES, DON'T LOOK NOW & KELLY'S HEROES, Passes Away Aged 88
Related:

Donald Sutherland, Star Of THE HUNGER GAMES, DON'T LOOK NOW & KELLY'S HEROES, Passes Away Aged 88

MEGALOPOLIS: Lionsgate To Distribute Francis Ford Coppola's Divisive Sci-Fi Epic In The U.S.
Recommended For You:

MEGALOPOLIS: Lionsgate To Distribute Francis Ford Coppola's Divisive Sci-Fi Epic In The U.S.

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

UniqNo
UniqNo - 5/17/2024, 6:36 AM
Sounds like it was always going to be polarizing.

I'll definitley be checking it out, just not in cinemas.
FireandBlood
FireandBlood - 5/17/2024, 6:41 AM
@UniqNo - Same here.
ObserverIO
ObserverIO - 5/17/2024, 11:51 AM
@UniqNo - Totally. That first review even talks about how the film is a response to "Our bitterly polarized political landscape" and the film is literally 50% thumbs up and 50% thumbs down.

If Coppola was trying to make art about polarization, I'd call that a perfect success.
JobinJ
JobinJ - 5/17/2024, 6:41 AM
“10 minute standing ovation” likely wildly exaggerated. Just like the supposed 7 minute ovation from Furiosa.

I don’t think people know how time works.
UniqNo
UniqNo - 5/17/2024, 6:46 AM
@JobinJ - Na i beleive that there was a long one, but more for the fact he got his film made with all the difficulties he faced. The celebration in those types of places is around filmaking more than the actual film...at least in my opinion.
TrentCrimm
TrentCrimm - 5/17/2024, 7:00 AM
@JobinJ -

I thought the same thing, 7 minutes is a long frigging time when we're talking about just standing in place clapping lol

elgaz
elgaz - 5/17/2024, 7:32 AM
@TrentCrimm - too right

User Comment Image
The1st
The1st - 5/17/2024, 11:45 AM
@JobinJ - or how thunderous applause works evidently, still.
ObserverIO
ObserverIO - 5/17/2024, 11:52 AM
@JobinJ - Maybe it just felt like ten minutes.
mastakilla39
mastakilla39 - 5/17/2024, 2:41 PM
@TrentCrimm @ObserverIO - Nah thats the tradition of cannes and how they show respect and I think someone actually times it too lol. Guerill Del Toro got 22 minute standing ovation for Pans Labryinth when it 1st premiered there and it might be the record holder. 7 - 11 minutes isn't unbelievable.

Cannes judges films very harshly and aren't afraid to drag shit films and destroy their reputation either. Halloween Ends and Indiana Jones Dial of Destiny were destroyed by Cannes reviewers.
Toecutter
Toecutter - 5/17/2024, 6:43 AM
It's as expected. It'll probably be the Cloud Atlas of the 2020s.
UniqNo
UniqNo - 5/17/2024, 6:48 AM
@Toecutter - I quite enjoyed Cloud Atlas, once you look past all the terrible and racially insensitve make up. It also looked alot more expensive than Megalopolis. I still have the book i've been meaning to read since watching...I'll get there one day.
TheMetaMan
TheMetaMan - 5/17/2024, 6:57 AM
@UniqNo - I love cloud atlas. “Racially insensitive makeup” yeah I tend to not look at movies with any political context but to each their own. I just love science fiction stories based around meta/existential/esoteric concepts and themes which is what the wackowski siblings do best.
UniqNo
UniqNo - 5/17/2024, 7:00 AM
@TheMetaMan - I get that they wanted the same actors in different roles across time, but the asian stuff just didn't sit right, but maybe it was just hella distracting, but otherwise, a great movie.

Wachowski's are excellent. They've had some misses (mainly Jupiter Ascending) but i really liked Sense8 and Speed Racer. Even though the Matrix entries were up and down, you cannot deny how dense the lore is there now with what they created! Matrix's story was pretty cool, but they really needed more action and gunplay to have sold it more.
UniqNo
UniqNo - 5/17/2024, 7:05 AM
@UniqNo - Martix 4's story*
TheMetaMan
TheMetaMan - 5/17/2024, 7:23 AM
@UniqNo - Yeah I get what you mean concerning cloud atlas and the makeup stuff.. The filmography of the wackowski’s has been polarising too. Jupiter ascending; loved the core concept as a story but the execution absolutely sucked ass. As for the matrix films I have to defend them to the death. The original literally changed my life and the sequels I adore and appreciate much more now then I did when they were released. Even matrix resurrections is actually my second favourite matrix movie. It went over everyone’s head but for me I love it dearly. Having said that, I’m happy and excited for the return of the franchise with recent news of Drew goodard attached to helm the fifth instalment. The franchise has the capacity to tell new and exciting stories. The possibilities are endless.
UniqNo
UniqNo - 5/17/2024, 7:57 AM
@TheMetaMan - Right there with you as far as The Matrix franchise is concerned. Can't wait to see what Goddard does.

I liked Resurrections and all the meta stuff, but on a 3rd watch I realised it missed all the innovation and actiok the series was known for.

They got Reeves fresh off his John Wick success and hardly had him fight or use any guns when we know he can still do it! The fights we did get were choreographed terribly. They were also missing the original cinematographer that gave it that amazing look.

Like I said, I liked the story and the return of Moss and Reeves but it was missing what made it special.
thedrudo
thedrudo - 5/17/2024, 8:19 AM
@Toecutter - I’m okay with that. I love that one so much.
The1st
The1st - 5/17/2024, 11:51 AM
@TheMetaMan - This. Although, for Atlas, I'd say context is everything. I mean we don't vilify RDJ for Tropic Thunder, we know what they were going for, mostly. Jupiter was all over the place. I agree Goddard given the reigns has potential though, once you get past Lana's social commentary and fu to WB in the 4th one.
MarkCassidy
MarkCassidy - 5/17/2024, 7:10 AM
I love Coppola's films (mostly), so it's a definite big screen watch for me.
Nolanite
Nolanite - 5/17/2024, 7:11 AM
Who even has the energy to stand for 10 minutes while clapping? After two minutes I'd be worn out.
Same happens in bed.
Nolanite out
four20smoke
four20smoke - 5/17/2024, 7:22 AM
@Nolanite - lol
TheVisionary25
TheVisionary25 - 5/17/2024, 7:52 AM
Babylon 2 has arrived lol.

User Comment Image

Kidding aside , this is not surprising since it looked like it wasn’t going to be for everyone from the footage we had seen thus far…

Personally , it looks gorgeous and I like the cast so I’m intrigued enough to give it a shot!!.
LSHF
LSHF - 5/17/2024, 8:24 AM
@TheVisionary25 - I definitely plan on giving it a shot when it gets to one of my streaming channels.
MotherGooseUPus
MotherGooseUPus - 5/17/2024, 7:56 AM
not shocked by these reactions. this is a pass for me. will see it one day on Tv or Netflix/Amazon when im bored
HermanM
HermanM - 5/17/2024, 8:11 AM
LOL!

MegaCRAPopolis.

Sounds like a fake Greek name
bobevanz
bobevanz - 5/17/2024, 8:15 AM
It's definitely not for the cbm crowd, they like fUn aNd jOkEs
LSHF
LSHF - 5/17/2024, 8:23 AM
As long as it's real "cinema" (sarcasm intentional), that's what matters most.

Hopefully it will make good profit for the studio.
RolandD
RolandD - 5/17/2024, 8:34 AM
When Shia Labouf is in a movie and he is not the most controversial person on set.
Izaizaiza
Izaizaiza - 5/17/2024, 8:55 AM
I will definitely be checking this out. Even if it is a passion project train wreck, I can't imagine it's boring
GeneralZod
GeneralZod - 5/17/2024, 9:14 AM
@Izaizaiza - And, you get your money's worth with FFC's unique cinematography.
Izaizaiza
Izaizaiza - 5/17/2024, 9:26 AM
@GeneralZod - Yeah man, it's going to be an interesting experience!
TheNewYorker
TheNewYorker - 5/17/2024, 8:55 AM
That teaser trailer was trash.
dragon316
dragon316 - 5/17/2024, 9:28 AM
Movie score and ratings mean nothing there are movies with lower scores made successful and made billion back to back all it depends how many people want to see this
marvel72
marvel72 - 5/17/2024, 10:07 AM
The director alone is enough for me to watch.
GeneralZod
GeneralZod - 5/17/2024, 10:52 AM
@marvel72 - And, at 85, probably FFC's last rodeo. The movie as a story might be crap, but, as I was saying to @izaizaiza, each frame will be a painting. No shaky-cam, guaranteed.
GeneralZod
GeneralZod - 5/17/2024, 11:07 AM
Among others casted: Laurence Fishburne, Adam Driver, Michelle Pfeiffer, Shia LaBeouf, Jessica Lange, Dustin Hoffman, Forest Whitaker, Jude Law, Cate Blanchett, James Caan, John Voigt, Zendaya, Giancarlo Esposito, Oscar Isaac, Talia Shire.

Big screen for me.

User Comment Image

DocSpock
DocSpock - 5/17/2024, 11:07 AM

I'll watch it when it shows up on TV. If it's interesting and/or good, I will watch it all.

If it is boring and/or bad, well, that's what tequila & recliner naps are for.

THEDARKKNIGHT1939
THEDARKKNIGHT1939 - 5/17/2024, 11:17 AM
Wtf it's already out?
NGFB
NGFB - 5/17/2024, 6:37 PM
Oh goody. I couldn't wait to hear what Rotten Tomatoes said. Said nobody ever.

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.

View Recorder