OBI-WAN KENOBI Is Being Review Bombed On Rotten Tomatoes After Racist Attacks Against Moses Ingram

OBI-WAN KENOBI Is Being Review Bombed On Rotten Tomatoes After Racist Attacks Against Moses Ingram

Obi-Wan Kenobi star Moses Ingram was recently the subject of some vile racist attacks by so-called Star Wars "fans," and it appears they've now resorted to review bombing the series on Rotten Tomatoes.

By JoshWilding - Jun 05, 2022 11:06 PM EST
Filed Under: Obi-Wan Kenobi
Source: SFFGazette.com

For whatever reason, there are a lot of Star Wars fans who have an issue with a Black actor playing one of Obi-Wan Kenobi's lead villains. We are, of course, referring to the heinous racist abuse aimed at Moses Ingram, and after Lucasfilm and Ewan McGregor spoke out in her defence, those same "fans" have found a new way to attack the show. 

As of last night, Obi-Wan Kenobi's "Audience Score" on Rotten Tomatoes (via SFFGazette.com) had sunk to a lowly 57%. It's since bounced back up to 61%, but one glance at the negative reviews point to trolls being responsible.

There are a fair few that appear valid in their criticisms, but others attack Ingram directly and make some baffling comments about the show (like it being unable to live up to the greatness of the prequels...seriously!). It's a bit pathetic, really, as there's just no need for any of this, but these abusive Star Wars fans, likely incels, clearly have a great deal of time on their hands. 

Many Disney properties have been the victim of review bombing. Captain Marvel came under fire because Brie Larson didn't smile enough for some sexists, while Eternals was targeted due to its LGBTQIA+ representation. Pretty sad, right?

"Obi-Wan Kenobi is a showcase for the immense talents of Ewan McGregor and Vivien Lyra Blair, and after just two episodes, it's already on a par with The Mandalorian as the best Star Wars TV series yet," we said in our review of the show's first two episodes last month.

What is your honest review of Obi-Wan Kenobi three episodes in?

THE ACOLYTE Showrunner On Whether [SPOILER] Really Died In Latest Episode And What The Sith Are Really Up To
Related:

THE ACOLYTE Showrunner On Whether [SPOILER] Really Died In Latest Episode And What The Sith Are Really Up To

Lucasfilm Exec Reveals Why George Lucas Has Called OBI-WAN KENOBI One Of His Favorite Things From Disney Era
Recommended For You:

Lucasfilm Exec Reveals Why George Lucas Has Called OBI-WAN KENOBI "One Of His Favorite Things" From Disney Era

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
theprophet
theprophet - 6/5/2022, 11:02 PM
(via SFFGazette.com) I think most of us here dont give a shit about that site.
SonOfAGif
SonOfAGif - 6/5/2022, 11:32 PM
@theprophet - Leave it to Wilding to use another site that he creates articles for as a source for his opinion pieces.
EZBeast
EZBeast - 6/5/2022, 11:03 PM
As someone who doesn’t care about this show and knows nothing of online reviews on rotten tomatoes is it actually being bombed or is the show just not that good? My buddy whose a big Star Wars fan says it has great moments but is overall a pretty mediocre show. Just curious
AmazingFILMporg
AmazingFILMporg - 6/5/2022, 11:04 PM
@TheFireForce -


It can be both but unfortunately I think most of the reviews are from people that just don't like the show🥲
EZBeast
EZBeast - 6/5/2022, 11:14 PM
@AmazingFILMporg - that is what I figured. I would think those who have strong feelings about the show would be more vocal than those who don’t like the actress. However I do get that there are shit people out there would really be that scummy unfortunately…
CorndogBurglar
CorndogBurglar - 6/5/2022, 11:32 PM
@TheFireForce - Well, it's easy to tell that a lot of the negative reviews started after the racist comments were made about the actress.

That could be a coincidence, of course. But honestly, I doubt it.
UGLYsonic
UGLYsonic - 6/5/2022, 11:34 PM
@AmazingFILMporg - I'm looking forward to one of this shows defenders spending the next hour or so pouring over hundreds of reviews to find the handful of racist or stupid reviews to show as examples of how they are right, even though those handful of reviews are a drop of water compared to the ocean of legitimate reviews that are just disappointed by the show.

It's bound to happen.
EZBeast
EZBeast - 6/5/2022, 11:37 PM
@CorndogBurglar - but hasn’t the show been out for a while now? Seems weird thay they’re coming out now after like 4 episodes
MorbidlyObryce
MorbidlyObryce - 6/5/2022, 11:59 PM
@TheFireForce - episode 3 was kind of a breaking point for many.
lordSTALE
lordSTALE - 6/6/2022, 12:24 AM
@TheFireForce @AmazingFILMporg - It was review bombed for sure

The show was at 73% with about 500 reviews when Ewan said not to be racist

2 hours later over 1,500 reviews and 52% score
AmazingFILMporg
AmazingFILMporg - 6/6/2022, 12:26 AM
@lordSTALE -


Yikes. Can't argue with that. I don't like the show but you can't argue with that fact😳
ElricReturns
ElricReturns - 6/6/2022, 12:33 AM
@lordSTALE - not trying to be argumentative, if that's true then that's horrible, but what's your source for these facts? Just wanting to see how credible this claim is, what methods they used to prove this happened.
lordSTALE
lordSTALE - 6/6/2022, 12:51 AM
@ElricReturns - Before and after Ewan's message

https://mobile.twitter.com/lodinsxnl/status/1532840416525135873
ElricReturns
ElricReturns - 6/6/2022, 1:40 AM
@lordSTALE - there aren't any time stamps. These are just before and after shots. There's no evidence this was just before Ewans post and immediately after. Again, I'm not trying to be argumentative, I'm just skeptical. This doesn't prove anything other than new reviews sunk it's ratings. I find it a little strange someone would just so happen to take a screen shot right before Ewan posted, to compare an after image to. Just seems like a forced narrative.

Not trying to make you mad. I appreciate you providing the link. I just don't see ANY evidence in those 2 picks other than the rating plummeted. I need more to support these allegations.
ElricReturns
ElricReturns - 6/6/2022, 1:45 AM
@lordSTALE - in fact, Ewans message was posted on the 31st of May, and this tweet was posted 4 days later on the 3rd of June. Why did he wait 4 days to share this red hot scoop? No, this seems to me like a work meant to cast a false spin on the RT score. There isn't a reliable source with definitive evidence. I could post a tweet with these same pictures and make up whatever I wanted to say. This proves nothing, to me.
seismicblast
seismicblast - 6/6/2022, 3:57 AM
@lordSTALE - It's the fact that Disney presumed the audience to be racist when they identified the character Reva as one of the sore spots of the show. Carl Weathers didn't get this kind of vitriol because he was well acted and his character felt organic to the story. Moses seems like she didn't even audition. Her lines came off as canned. She also seems pouty, weak and uninterested in her role. Did Disney hire her from the food services staff when casting her??? She also screams "diversity hire" shoved to the front as much as possible which just makes it seem laughable she'd be of any significance to Obi-Wan and Vader.
TheyDont
TheyDont - 6/6/2022, 3:57 AM
@TheFireForce - There's A LOT of stupidity in that show.
McMurdo
McMurdo - 6/6/2022, 4:04 AM
@TheFireForce - the most recent episode had Vader doing nonsensical shit with fire lol so I imagine now is when a lot of the hard-core fans are checking out.

Fogs
Fogs - 6/6/2022, 4:21 AM
@TheFireForce - the show is bad, at least so far.
CorndogBurglar
CorndogBurglar - 6/6/2022, 6:09 AM
@TheFireForce - That was my point. The racist comments weren't a thing at first. It only really became news last week. Then the stream of negative reviews started.
Kikogod
Kikogod - 6/6/2022, 6:35 AM
@seismicblast - absolutely agree. Some people are terrible and pure racist hate is unecceptable, but about her role - yeah it's pretty bad.
Chris827
Chris827 - 6/6/2022, 8:42 AM
@lordSTALE - and yet you still have people in here claiming it wasnt review bombed, it just isnt a good show.

Just shit toxic fandom around MCU, DC and Star Wars.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
View Recorder