THE GARFIELD MOVIE Gets A Less Than Purrrfect Rotten Tomatoes Score As First Reviews Are Revealed

THE GARFIELD MOVIE Gets A Less Than Purrrfect Rotten Tomatoes Score As First Reviews Are Revealed THE GARFIELD MOVIE Gets A Less Than Purrrfect Rotten Tomatoes Score As First Reviews Are Revealed

Guardians of the Galaxy star Chris Pratt proved the haters wrong with The Super Mario Bros. Movie last summer, but will The Garfield Movie find the same level of success? Here are the first reviews...

By JoshWilding - May 21, 2024 11:05 AM EST
Filed Under: Animated Features
Source: Toonado.com

When the news broke that Guardians of the Galaxy star Chris Pratt would lend his voice to the title character in The Super Mario Bros. Movie, the response was mostly negative. 

The actor ultimately proved his detractors wrong and, despite mixed reviews, the 2023 release went on to earn over $1.3 billion for Illumination at the worldwide box office. Can The Garfield Movie find a similar level of success this weekend?

While that remains to be seen, the first wave of reviews isn't particularly kind. In fact, as we write this, The Garfield Movie has a disappointing 52% on Rotten Tomatoes.

That's a "Rotten" score, but The Super Mario Bros. Movie has only 59% and families don't tend to pay as much attention to these scores as regular filmgoers. Looking through the verdicts, however, it seems Pratt may have phoned in his performance here as, unlike his previous animated projects, the actor is taking much of the blame for why The Garfield Movie doesn't work.

Check out a sampling of reviews for the movie below (via Toonado.com). 

The rudimentary animation does the film no favors, nor does the lead vocal turn by Pratt, who strangely has become one of Hollywood’s go-to animation stars with Onward, The Lego Movie and its sequel and The Super Mario Bros. Movie. His colorless vocal work here pales in comparison with his predecessors Bill Murray, who voiced the character in the two live-action movies, and Lorenzo Music, who played it brilliantly for so many years on television. The strange result is a Garfield without attitude. - The Hollywood Reporter

The Garfield Movie applies some nice animation to an annoying all-ages comedy of product placement, phone jokes, and daddy issues. [4/10] - IGN

Is this a kid’s movie or a commercial? And if it’s the latter, a commercial for what exactly? Certainly not more movies like this. I already know about Olive Garden’s breadsticks. I’d like to know more about funny, sweet, smart family-centric features, the kind the multiplex is so desperately lacking. Call it a case of the Mondays, but this kitty needs to go way back to the drawing board. [C] - IndieWire

The Garfield Movie is adorable, but it is more of a kids movie than a family movie. The majority of the humor is geared toward a younger audience, and the plot is made simple so that kids can understand it without having to ask questions. - Mama's Geeky

The Garfield Movie may be as disposable as one of those numbered paperbacks that ex-kids of a certain age may fondly recall from their Scholastic book orders, but it approximates their sense of fun, too. - Paste Magazine

"You will not be disappointed!" promises Pratt at the onset. We categorically beg to differ... [2/5] - Total Film

'The Garfield Movie' serves as a bleak reminder that the future of much children’s entertainment made in this country is to become colorful advertisements. It’s also a terrible Monday of a film for the orange tabby whose storied laziness over nearly 50 years has certainly earned him better. - Variety

Mark Dindal’s film is unlikely to be hailed as a family movie classic, and as animated interpretations of “Garfield” go, it lags way behind the classic Halloween and Christmas specials or the 'Garfield and Friends' TV series. But it’s a heck of a lot better than most of his other 21st century adventures, and a lot less hate-able than Mondays. - The Wrap

Garfield (voiced by Chris Pratt), the world-famous, Monday-hating, lasagna-loving indoor cat, is about to have a wild outdoor adventure! After an unexpected reunion with his long-lost father – scruffy street cat Vic (voiced by Samuel L. Jackson) – Garfield and his canine friend Odie are forced from their perfectly pampered life into joining Vic in a hilarious, high-stakes heist.

SAUSAGE PARTY: FOODTOPIA - First Red Band Trailer For Animated Sequel Series Serves Up More Culinary Chaos
Related:

SAUSAGE PARTY: FOODTOPIA - First Red Band Trailer For Animated Sequel Series Serves Up More Culinary Chaos

DESPICABLE ME 4 Promo Pokes Fun At BLACK ADAM Star The Rock, Warner Bros., And The MCU's Slate Reveals
Recommended For You:

DESPICABLE ME 4 Promo Pokes Fun At BLACK ADAM Star The Rock, Warner Bros., And The MCU's Slate Reveals

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

Malatrova15
Malatrova15 - 5/21/2024, 11:11 AM
Hunter shafer as odid was gold
Evansly
Evansly - 5/21/2024, 11:12 AM
Not sure there are enough people who care about Garfield. I imagine the nostalgia draw is low
tylerzero
tylerzero - 5/21/2024, 11:46 AM
@Evansly -

As an 80's kid, I absolutely loved Garfield, however, I completely lost interest after I turned two digits old. Never cared when it was rebooted with Bill Murray (although I haven't watched it, I can totally hear him as Garfield's voice).

But I digress. Re: nostalgia for Garfield...

User Comment Image
BlackStar25
BlackStar25 - 5/21/2024, 11:57 AM
@Evansly - I thought the same. They were doing limited early screenings and those got sold out like really really quick. Im sure the rotten score and the actually film quality may play a factor when it comes out but it seems like the nostalgia draw was there to some capacity.
The1st
The1st - 5/21/2024, 2:23 PM
@tylerzero - and, in closing, good grief.
Matchesz
Matchesz - 5/21/2024, 11:22 AM
Bill Murray is Garfield. This looks like another soulless manufactured animated kids movie like that grinch cartoon. Murray would have least given the movie some character, Pratt is pretty generic as a voice actor he must have friends for grabbing all the iconic roles
Amuro
Amuro - 5/21/2024, 11:58 AM
@Matchesz - Bill Murray never wanted to do Garfield in the first place and hates the movies so he wouldn't have come back for more. He even mocked them in the Zombieland movies.

User Comment Image
TheIronDuck
TheIronDuck - 5/21/2024, 12:12 PM
@Matchesz - Bill Murry only voiced Garfield because the voice of Garfield in Garfield and Friends voiced his character in Real Ghostbusters.
mountainman
mountainman - 5/21/2024, 11:22 AM
Garfield really hasn’t been relevant in over 20 years, so this comes as no surprise.
The1st
The1st - 5/21/2024, 11:30 AM
@mountainman - Would have preferred Calvin and Hobbes, personally. Watching super saiyan golden shower is always top tier animation/cinema.
SATW42
SATW42 - 5/21/2024, 11:50 AM
@mountainman - This is true, but we won't really know what his relevancy truly is until the movie comes out.

Like this article said, Mario was only 59%.

I never trust reviews for childrens movies because the reviewers are not the intended audience. I read a couple of these reviews and most of them say something along the lines of "kids may like it..." Well, that's the [frick]ing point lol
mountainman
mountainman - 5/21/2024, 11:52 AM
@SATW42 - Oh yeah kids movies are a different ballgame.

I just wonder how much “grumpy about Mondays and eats a lot of lasagna” Garfield will resonate with kids these days.

I guess we will see. This did seem to be reimagining the character to an extent.
SATW42
SATW42 - 5/21/2024, 11:57 AM
@mountainman - Don't get me wrong, I have no interest in this movie, but there was a trailer for it before something I took my son to, maybe ninja turtles, and he seemed to enjoy the trailer, I'm pretty sure it got a laugh out of him. He's 6. I wish reviewers would attempt to review the movie on it's intended audience and not their film degrees.

It's very possible it's absolute trash, but absolute trash sometimes is successful
PC04
PC04 - 5/21/2024, 11:30 AM
Never understood Garfield's appeal. He's so lame.
Gambito
Gambito - 5/21/2024, 11:32 AM
Honest to god I don’t think there’s any person on the planet that cares about this movie God bless you Chris Pratt you have done solid [frick]ing movies you deserve a phone-in. Looking forward to Scarlett Johansson’s on transformers
SATW42
SATW42 - 5/21/2024, 11:51 AM
@Gambito - are kids people? Cause I know kids who want to see it...
Gambito
Gambito - 5/21/2024, 12:02 PM
@SATW42 - No
bobevanz
bobevanz - 5/21/2024, 11:53 AM
What's next, Marmaduke? Stupid boomers don't even bother to make this movie long lasting, just to hope they turn a profit even if it's a penny. Repeat viewings? No chance in hell, even the parents won't be seeing this nothing burger again
DanielPlainviewsGhost
DanielPlainviewsGhost - 5/21/2024, 11:56 AM
@bobevanz - There was a live action Marmaduke movie in 2010 and then an animated movie in 2022. Neither was good.
SATW42
SATW42 - 5/21/2024, 12:01 PM
@bobevanz - Netflix did Marmaduke and it was traaaaaaaash. My 8 year old at the time had zero interest. My 4 year old at the time for whatever reason seemed to like it, because I know he asked to watch it more than once and I actually made the futile mistake of asking him why.
HermanM
HermanM - 5/21/2024, 12:21 PM
Is Pratt really the thing that makes or breaks a Garfield movie though? It isn't like his voice is particularly jarring... Garfield is a jerk, while Pratt is known for playing nice guys. I don't get the hate, there are tons of other things that could ruin this movie, Pratt's voice is a non entity.
NGFB
NGFB - 5/21/2024, 12:59 PM
2008 called and wants it's Garfield and Rotten Tomatoes back.
clintthahamster
clintthahamster - 5/21/2024, 1:26 PM
First week of summer for a lot of kids. This will do fine, just by dint of there not being much else to choose from.
JustAWaffle
JustAWaffle - 5/21/2024, 1:45 PM
I can imagine it’ll do well for families, but I can’t imagine the quality being very high. Garfield and Friends had some great comedy at times, and the comic had some high moments, but unless they tap into that (those Jon is alone comics were epic) I doubt it’ll be remembered after the summer.
LeDiableBlanc
LeDiableBlanc - 5/21/2024, 4:04 PM
Lasagna is great. Monday sucks. We are Garfield.
marvel72
marvel72 - 5/21/2024, 4:33 PM
I did love Garfield back in the 80s but I sort of lost interest. It might attract the hardcore fans and gain some new ones.
SiMo
SiMo - 5/22/2024, 3:49 AM
I love Garfield, but I don't like him talking in the movies at all. A lot of humor is lost there. He should just think, without lip-syncing, and the rest is done by facial expressions and body language. That's exactly what makes the comics so charming. And that can work, think back to "Look who's talking".

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.

View Recorder