BLUE BEETLE Takes Flight With $3.3 Million From Thursday Previews - Just Below SHAZAM! 2

BLUE BEETLE Takes Flight With $3.3 Million From Thursday Previews - Just Below SHAZAM! 2 BLUE BEETLE Takes Flight With $3.3 Million From Thursday Previews - Just Below SHAZAM! 2

Blue Beetle is now in theaters, and the DC Comics movie is off to a decent, if not exactly spectacular, start at the box office after taking in $3.3 million from Thursday preview screenings...

By MarkCassidy - Aug 18, 2023 11:08 AM EST
Filed Under: Blue Beetle

Blue Beetle arrives in theaters this weekend, and the movie kicked-off its box office run by taking in a so-so $3.3 million from Thursday preview screenings in North America.

This puts Jaime Reyes' first big-screen outing on track for an estimated $25M-$30M opening.

This wouldn't usually be considered an impressive debut for a superhero movie, but may not be disastrous for this one, which had a relatively modest budget (at least when compared to The Flash) of $120 million. That said, Shazam! Fury of the Gods had a reported budget of $90M-$100M, and the recent sequel topped Beetle's preview totals (hopefully not an indicator of what we can expect for BB).

Blue Beetle should still take the No. 1 spot from Barbie this weekend (which is holding strong after 5 weeks in theaters), but it remains to be seen how it fares over the next few weeks. Positive reviews should help (it's now "certified fresh" on Rotten Tomatoes at 80% with a 95% audience score), and good word-of-mouth could certainly propel the DC Comics film past expectations.

Have you been to see Blue Beetle yet? If not, are you planning to? Drop us a comment down below.

"Recent college grad Jaime Reyes (Xolo Mariduena) returns home full of aspirations for his future, only to find that home is not quite as he left it," reads the synopsis. "As he searches to find his purpose in the world, fate intervenes when Jaime unexpectedly finds himself in possession of an ancient relic of alien biotechnology: the Scarab."

"When the Scarab suddenly chooses Jaime to be its symbiotic host, he is bestowed with an incredible suit of armour capable of extraordinary and unpredictable powers, forever changing his destiny as he becomes the Super Hero Blue Beetle."

The cast also includes Bruna Marquezine, Belissa Escobedo, Adriana Barraza, Elpidia Carrillo, Damián Alcázar, and Raoul Max Trujillo.

Blue Beetle is set to be released in theaters on August 18, 2023.

BLUE BEETLE Star Xolo Maridueña Confirms DCU Return: I Can Confidently Say That We Will See Him Soon
Related:

BLUE BEETLE Star Xolo Maridueña Confirms DCU Return: "I Can Confidently Say That We Will See Him Soon"

BLUE BEETLE Receives A Premiere Date For MAX Streaming Service And It's Rapidly Approaching
Recommended For You:

BLUE BEETLE Receives A Premiere Date For MAX Streaming Service And It's Rapidly Approaching

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

1 2
CyberNigerian - 8/18/2023, 11:10 AM
I need this movie to win!
BuzzKillington - 8/18/2023, 11:25 AM
@CyberNigerian -

What is a win to you?
CyberNigerian - 8/18/2023, 11:46 AM
@BuzzKillington - better box office than The Flash.
Feralwookiee - 8/18/2023, 11:47 AM
@CyberNigerian - You own stock in WB?
Arthorious - 8/18/2023, 1:14 PM
@Feralwookiee - I do and it’s the biggest mistake I’ve made after buying sushi from a gas station. Ugh…
Feralwookiee - 8/18/2023, 1:23 PM
@Arthorious - lol
Sell!
batmbl - 8/18/2023, 10:05 PM
@CyberNigerian - I saw this last night with my twins who turned 18 and their 13 year old sister. She went in lukewarm to the movie and loved it. I really liked it as well. I would say the best comic book movie this year and best effects as well by a long shot.
BuzzKillington - 8/19/2023, 2:22 AM
@CyberNigerian -

Not sure if that's possible
BuzzKillington - 8/23/2023, 5:27 PM
@CyberNigerian -

That is definitely not gonna happen now.
tmp3 - 8/18/2023, 11:12 AM
This movie had one of the worst ad campaigns i’ve ever seen from a major hollywood production, so the fact that it’s supposed to be good but still flopped really says something about WB and the kind of trust they have with audiences rn
Origame - 8/18/2023, 11:16 AM
@tmp3 - I mean, it's about on par with Shazam 2 (with a big factor being that the stars aren't promoting this due to the strike).
Feralwookiee - 8/18/2023, 11:52 AM
@Origame - Shazam 2 finished with only $134 million worldwide.

If Blue Beetle finishes with similar numbers, which looks likely, it'll be yet another flop for WB.

Even though this is a "lower" budgeted movie at $120 million, it would have to clear around $300 million worldwide just to start turning a profit.
Origame - 8/18/2023, 11:58 AM
@Feralwookiee - I get that. But the point is nothing outside of lack of cast promotion (which has to do with the strike), this isn't all that different from Shazam 2 in terms of marketing.

That's actually saying something, since a lower budget movie tends to get lower in marketing as well.

So this can be seen as a consistent pattern of marketing, not just something that happened to blue beetle.
WakandanQueen - 8/18/2023, 1:05 PM
@tmp3 - Well, they used all their marketing money on The Flash and Barbie. At least it worked for Barbie big time.

Funny how there's no piece of marketing out for Aquaman 2 coming it out in 4 months from now.
tmp3 - 8/18/2023, 1:44 PM
@WakandanQueen - The entire Aquaman 2 marketing campaign is gonna start in october which is just insane
TheShellyMan - 8/18/2023, 4:23 PM
@Feralwookiee - $300M finish for this movie looks like wishful thinking. Idk why this doesn't have a Chinese release date yet.
Itwasme - 8/18/2023, 5:33 PM
@Feralwookiee - on thing about turning a profit - it's a bit harder to tell what that point is with streaming and digital sales. WB is pushing Barbie to digital super fast so there's likely a good amount of cheddar to be made from digital - moreso than theaters. This is also what part of the strike is about. My feeling is the game has changed a bit, but have no real idea and can't say how much.

Might be that these films are still doing well, it's the theaters that are struggling. Maybe....
dragon316 - 8/18/2023, 6:57 PM
@tmp3 - ads don’t always make movies successful dragonball superhero movie have had no ads for
It it became top movie to see very successful
Feralwookiee - 8/18/2023, 8:57 PM
@TheShellyMan - Yeah. I don't think it'll top $200 million ww.

Interestingly enough, just for shits and giggles I did a google search regarding a possible release date for China, and literally nothing comes up for at least the first few dozen results; not even speculation as to if it will be released there, which is rather strange imo.

I even tried several different search engines and got the same results, nothing.

I did however accidently click on a hilariously mistranslated pdf file that suggests if you like Blue Beetle you should also watch Demon Slayer:Kimetsu no Yaiba. 😳

(Yes, I have waaaay too much free time on my hands right now.) 🤪
narrow290 - 8/18/2023, 11:13 AM
The movie was good! I really enjoyed it! just a bit silly at times but overall a solid flick. Worth the price of the ticket for sure! Here's hoping it does well enough to get a sequel
Luigi - 8/18/2023, 5:45 PM
@narrow290 - Hey, how'd this positive person get on this site!? Mods!
dragon316 - 8/18/2023, 6:58 PM
@narrow290 - as I read somewhere comic book movies all have comedy thinks comedy means it to be successful forgot where I read it not all comic movies need have comedy in it marvel ….
dracula - 8/18/2023, 11:14 AM
Watching this weekend
GhostDog - 8/18/2023, 11:16 AM
Equalizer 3 and The Nun 2 may do some damage to this but it should be fine for 2 weeks. Just have to see if people decide to pay for it. The marketing campaign did not do it any favors.
tmp3 - 8/18/2023, 1:06 PM
@GhostDog - The Nun movies are so frustrating because they have all the components needed to be the modern day equivalent of Hammer Horror but always wind up so [frick]ing mid. All those great locations for the worst American studio horror imaginable lol
GhostDog - 8/18/2023, 1:34 PM
@tmp3 - They could tap into a giallo vibe too when you consider the elements they play with. Now the Nun actor is suing WB lol
tmp3 - 8/18/2023, 1:46 PM
@GhostDog - LMFAO. Also, such a shame that Malignant bombed - Wan is such a good Giallo director that he needs to stop wasting his time on drumming fish
GhostDog - 8/18/2023, 4:04 PM
@tmp3 - Yea Wan could build a carve little giallo corner for himself if he wanted to.
ShellHead - 8/18/2023, 11:16 AM
WB/DC never gave this movie what it needed for promotion. It's a shame, it looks like the best DC thing they've put out in years
MarkCassidy - 8/18/2023, 11:17 AM
I thought this looked pretty awful, but I've heard from a few people who would have fairly similar taste that it's really good. Kinda regret skipping my screening now.
Snow43214 - 8/18/2023, 12:30 PM
@MarkCassidy - it's so good, reay fun!

I saw you posted an article about the post credit scenes, does that mean you spoiled the ending for yourself? Dude, you should see it bud
FireandBlood - 8/18/2023, 11:18 AM
“Just Below SHAZAM! 2”

GhostDog - 8/18/2023, 11:25 AM
@PlusUltra -

TheFinestSmack - 8/18/2023, 11:26 AM
The above tweet mentioned Haunted Mansion's profits...that movie came out already??? Feel like i didn't hear anything about it, or maybe I just wasn't paying attention.
thedrudo - 8/18/2023, 11:57 AM
@TheFinestSmack - Came out at the end of July!
TheFinestSmack - 8/18/2023, 1:27 PM
@thedrudo - Wow i clearly am not paying attention hahaha
DarthOmega - 8/18/2023, 11:27 AM
You're sitting in the theaters. You are watching Batman Begins, Dark Knight, The Watchmen, 300, Man of Steel, Wonder Woman, you have a giant smile on your face thinking of all the possibilities of what kinda films you will see in the future for WB/DC.

Then we fast forward to today. Sigh.

Look, I'm not as familiar with the character as some of you. Can't say I have ever read a full BB comic. But I really want DC to catch a win. I'm not a DC fanboy. I'm not a Marvel fanboy. I'm a comics fanboy. I guess when I was watching those aforementioned films I was so impressed and excited for the future I didn't really think about the downfall.

All good things must come to an end I guess.

Hopefully James Gunn has something magical up his sleeves. And hopefully the Joker 2 blows us away.
Feralwookiee - 8/18/2023, 12:05 PM
@DarthOmega - The only thing is, out of the six movies you mentioned, only the last two were DCEU movies and they were mediocre to poor imo.

From Man of Steel on, the DCEU NEVER got "on track" with any consistency and at no point did I think there was great potential with the type of "writing" and "character building that was on display.

The producers, writers, and directors showed me they had very little knowledge of or interest in these characters and the end results showed on screen. The fact that the DCEU ended with a series of box office flops should be proof enough that the entire thing was flawed from the beginning and an overall failure.

I'd like to say I'm hopeful that Gunn will turn things around, but I don't believe he's the right guy for the job at all. In addition, he's also backtracked several times about totally rebooting.

I would compare WB/DC to a football franchise that just never seems to get their shit together. No matter how much money you throw at it, no matter how many times you change the head coach, the results are the same. I think Gunn bolts after his Superman movie is made.
1 2

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.

View Recorder