THE FLASH: Warner Bros. China Accused Of Paying For Positive Reviews And Reactions

THE FLASH: Warner Bros. China Accused Of Paying For Positive Reviews And Reactions

The hits keep coming for The Flash as one prominent Chinese reporter has shared intel which suggests Warner Bros. China may have paid critics and social media influences for their early positive reviews.

By JoshWilding - Jun 19, 2023 05:06 AM EST
Filed Under: The Flash

After months of hype which saw The Flash hailed as one of the greatest superhero movies ever made, the DC Comics adaptation opened this weekend to so-so, albeit mostly positive, reviews and an underwhelming B CinemaScore. 

More importantly, The Flash has all the makings of a box office flop, a disaster for Warner Bros. ahead of DC Studios' planned DCU reboot. 

Those of you who didn't buy into that early praise from David Zaslav, James Gunn, Tom Cruise, Jaden Smith, and Stephen King, among others, may now have something else to raise your eyebrows about. According to Chinese box office analyst Gavin Feng, Warner Bros. China is being accused of paying critics and social media influencers in the Middle Kingdom for positive reviews of The Flash

While moviegoers in the country appear to have legitimately enjoyed the movie, this seemingly bogus praise has led to online backlash and likely negatively impacted box office takings.

Freedom of speech isn't exactly something China is known for, so critics struggle to share negative reviews at the best of times. However, what came across as fake praise for The Flash from the aforementioned influencers and critics has soured DC fans and discouraged them from buying a ticket this weekend. 

Savvy moviegoers, wary of the DCEU after a rough few years, clearly didn't buy into the possibility The Flash was as good as some people claimed.

While critics being "bought" in the U.S. isn't a realistic possibility, we know social media reactions can't be trusted as those getting to see movies like this one early tend to get caught up in the excitement...or are keen to see their names in a TV spot!

There's always a chance some people do indeed believe The Flash is one of the best superhero movies ever made, and if so, it may be the most divisive comic book adaptation of all time.

What did you think about The Flash?

THE FLASH: Hot Toys Has Canceled Its Upcoming Young Barry Allen Figure (But Not For The Reason You'd Expect)
Related:

THE FLASH: Hot Toys Has Canceled Its Upcoming Young Barry Allen Figure (But Not For The Reason You'd Expect)

Christopher Reeve's Children Confirm They Had No Involvement With His CGI SUPERMAN Cameo In THE FLASH
Recommended For You:

Christopher Reeve's Children Confirm They Had No Involvement With His CGI SUPERMAN Cameo In THE FLASH

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

1 2 3 4 5
SimplyAz
SimplyAz - 6/19/2023, 5:55 AM
Strange how it backfired on them. Had the reviews said, it's a good film, rather than one of the best ever, would have been more believable.

Wonder why they didn't save the hyperbole for Superman Legacy

rkshuttleworth
rkshuttleworth - 6/19/2023, 11:25 AM
@SimplyAz - I am not sure what people are not understanding about China. That isn't the same as North America.
TempleRod
TempleRod - 6/19/2023, 6:05 AM
@PlusUltra - I've never accused Disney of paying for negative reviews on competitors.
But if you think for a minute that they don't do exactly the same for positive reviews, Then I don't know what to tell you.

It's simply a dirty game.
That's why I disregard all of it. I saw the movie with my own eyes. And when talking to people here about it, I don't hold up 'reviews' or 'box office' as trump cards. I talk about what I thought of the movie. I don't need numbers to do that.

Also, none of this discounts the blatantly obvious smear campaign waged not only on this site, but elsewhere, ALL DURING the run up to this movie, WHILE it was first released and ONGOING NOW.
Same talking points. Same exact word for word. Copy Paste and there you go.

Not saying it was the only thing that hit the movie, but IT WAS A POWERFUL INFLUENCE.
AmazingFILMporg
AmazingFILMporg - 6/19/2023, 9:22 AM
@TempleRod -

You have Disney derangement syndrome.


*Ezra is caught being a PEDOPHILE*



Templerod: Disney does it too!!!!


*The flash flops*


Templerod: Disney had flops too!!!!!


*WB gets caught paying for reviews*

Templerod: I'm sure Disney does it too!!!!!



You are a literal clown🤡🤡🤡🤡🤡🤡🤡🤡🤡🤡
FireandBlood
FireandBlood - 6/19/2023, 6:01 AM
Embarrassing af. Especially for you guys that shill for these idiots
vectorsigma
vectorsigma - 6/19/2023, 6:40 AM
@PlusUltra - perfect example that the mindset is

"Watch this movie, you support the actions of ezra"

What a joke

FireandBlood
FireandBlood - 6/19/2023, 7:02 AM
@vectorsigma - Huh? I watched the movie and I don’t support Ezra’s behaviour.
philinterrupted
philinterrupted - 6/19/2023, 7:29 AM
@vectorsigma - I watched the movie and thought it was great and don’t support his actions. But I also believe in redemption and think if you put an effort into better yourself and do the time for what you’re convicted of.
TempleRod
TempleRod - 6/19/2023, 7:38 AM
@philinterrupted - YES. Gunn himself was dragged into some bullshit controversy about jokes he made on social media years ago. Led to his firing from Marvel.

What a slap in the face. If anyone, he understands the true nature of redemption. And I actually applaud him for standing true in the face of allowing someone else to at least have a chance to show they aren't what they are accused of.
In Miller's case, if there's crimes, then charge Miller. I see a distinctive lack of charges going around.
philinterrupted
philinterrupted - 6/19/2023, 8:13 AM
@TempleRod - at the very least I didn’t see anything explicitly talking sexual crimes against children. He certainly had altercations involving someone under 18 but nowhere did I see any statutory crimes charged. But people need to go nuclear when they don’t like someone. It makes the argument easier to win.
Matador
Matador - 6/19/2023, 8:21 PM
@philinterrupted - So what your saying it's okay for a 24 year old male adult to have a relationship with an 11 year old and a 12 year old?

Just so wear clear that's grooming a child and pedo actions while coercing them that he would buy them horse or other items.

https://www.vanityfair.com/hollywood/2022/08/ezra-miller-has-now-been-accused-of-grooming-minors-and-leading-a-cult
philinterrupted
philinterrupted - 6/19/2023, 9:51 PM
@Matador - 1. I didn’t say anything was ok.
2. Having a relationship with a child, doesnt automatically mean it’s sexual or pedophilia. It can just be not appropriate because the parents didn’t approve.
3. Being accused of something isn’t the same as being guilty.
4. You’re doing the thing where you’re just making accusations, even about me, because you want to win an argument.

I never expressed the things you’re saying I did. You’re twisting my words into being approving of pedophilia. I am not. I just don’t espouse to the idea that he’s a pedo.

Stop going to extremes and misrepresenting things to bolster your own self esteem.
Matador
Matador - 6/20/2023, 8:47 AM
@philinterrupted - Then stop being a fool any parent who has kids is not even right for anyone's child if not a family member to have a relationship with any underage child from any adult.

So not sure if you have kids or not but from your opinion you would be oaky for Ezra Miller to have a relationship with your kid? That about right?

I'm not twisting any words that you yourself are expressing but that's what they sound like coming from you.
philinterrupted
philinterrupted - 6/20/2023, 9:24 AM
@Matador - you are twisting my words or you just don’t understand simple concepts.
I’m not saying anything he did is ok. Never said it, you won’t be able to quote me.
If you’ve read your own article you’ve linked, yes the parents have accused him of grooming, it’s completely understandable why they would do that. Having said, that accusations are not facts. Facts are not feelings. If there was any evidence that he had sexual encounters with an underage kid, they would have at the very least been charged. They haven’t been charged with that. If there is evidence then they need to present it and have them investigated for it. Having an inappropriate relationship can be many things other than statutory. All inappropriate relationships are wrong, but there are levels, it’s not all kid touching.

I don’t know what their relationship was with this family. So I nor you know that dynamic. You’re making assumption based off what you want to accuse them of. I’m making no judgements of the parents. I can completely understand their actions. But again, just because they feel a certain way doesn’t mean it’s actually what happened. I’m not making a case either way, I’m just speaking to what facts are present.

Here’s what he’s been charged with:
disorderly conduct and harassment,
burglary,
unlawful trespass

I don’t approve of any of those . My point is you do the crime, you do the time. Then after the time you put effort into improving yourself. Then in my book you qualify for redemption. I don’t approve of inappropriate relationships with kids of any kind. If that relationship is of a sexual nature, I think the crime should be death. So, do the crime, do the time. The rest isn’t achievable at that point. That’s what you can quote me on.
Matador
Matador - 6/20/2023, 10:13 AM
@philinterrupted - Here's the thing your your missing; Ezra was talking to two underage girls since he was 24 what makes him think it was okay for him to do that.

Answer: He had already done that to other kids that many people are not aware of that has gone unnoticed that's why he thought he could get away with it until those came to light. Is he a Groomer & a pedo yes the answer is yes he is.
philinterrupted
philinterrupted - 6/20/2023, 11:59 AM
@Matador - you’re just ignoring what I say so you can keep arguing. You’re not interested in conversation. You’re only interested feeding your own opinion based off of your assumptions about things you weren’t personally there for.

I’m not going to keep repeating myself. I’ve explained how I stand on Ezra’s actions. If you can’t understand that and continue to assume I’m saying what they’ve done is ok, I can’t help you. We’re clearly having two different arguments.

Matador
Matador - 6/20/2023, 12:21 PM
@philinterrupted - Of course your defending him why on Earth are you still arguing about it?
SonOfAGif
SonOfAGif - 6/19/2023, 6:04 AM
Funny how it's always been the narrative of the usual suspects that Disney pays for positive reviews. And look. It's WB doing it. Love me some juicy morning irony.
Se4M4NSt4ine
Se4M4NSt4ine - 6/19/2023, 7:15 AM
@SonOfAGif - I mean, they’ll both be at it. House of Mouse is just as corrupt.
ObserverIO
ObserverIO - 6/19/2023, 7:42 AM
@SonOfAGif - WB were the only ones who were actually caught red-handed, with Aquaman. And I'm talking America not China.
Urubrodi
Urubrodi - 6/19/2023, 8:10 AM
@Se4M4NSt4ine - well it seems that the mouse is better at it then, cause Disney wasn't caught doing this, WB was
Se4M4NSt4ine
Se4M4NSt4ine - 6/19/2023, 9:48 AM
@Urubrodi - doesn’t matter who’s better at it, again - they still both do it so?
Urubrodi
Urubrodi - 6/19/2023, 10:49 AM
@Se4M4NSt4ine - I mean, do you have proof that Disney does it, or you want it to be true? Is your argument something along the lines "oh Disney is such a massive company, they surely do it as well"
TempleRod
TempleRod - 6/19/2023, 6:08 AM
Have to repost my comment, because apparently it's not showing up if some people have blocked other people.

Low Energy move by the way.

@PlusUltra - I've never accused Disney of paying for negative reviews on competitors.
But if you think for a minute that they don't do exactly the same for positive reviews, Then I don't know what to tell you.

It's simply a dirty game.
That's why I disregard all of it. I saw the movie with my own eyes. And when talking to people here about it, I don't hold up 'reviews' or 'box office' as trump cards. I talk about what I thought of the movie. I don't need numbers to do that.

Also, none of this discounts the blatantly obvious smear campaign waged not only on this site, but elsewhere, ALL DURING the run up to this movie, WHILE it was first released and ONGOING NOW.
Same talking points. Same exact word for word. Copy Paste and there you go.

Not saying it was the only thing that hit the movie, but IT WAS A POWERFUL INFLUENCE.
FireandBlood
FireandBlood - 6/19/2023, 6:11 AM
@TempleRod - There’s no smear campaign. Ezra Miller simply brought bad press to the movie.
ShimmyShimmyYA
ShimmyShimmyYA - 6/19/2023, 7:42 AM
@PlusUltra - bro said a smear campaign 🤣🤣
Blergh
Blergh - 6/19/2023, 7:43 AM
@TempleRod - it’s not a smear campaign.
WB sabotaged itself throughout this whole process and even before.

1. Ezra’s crimes remaining unaddressed for weeks only to later be confronted with a non-resolution that created the image of WB almost encouraging his behavior.
All the while people with less clear cut cases have been treated differently around the same time.

2. multiple director changes inspired little confidence. Removing more than one director goes to show that WB tried to reign directors in rather than letting them work.

3. AGRESSIVE marketing. Hyperbole comments from celebrities and „new users“ on multiple websites were hard to believe, when questioning these opinions the rebuttals were often aggressive and full of vitriol.

4. Canceling a spin-off before the movie released. The messaging with Batgirl was „we’ve wasted 90M on a movie you’ll never see and we’ll only release this one because we spent too much on it“. Aka. 90M can be wasted, 250M can’t.

5. Releasing movies with differing quality in the same year.


WB sabotaged themselves, no need for conspiracies if they’re shooting themselves
TempleRod
TempleRod - 6/19/2023, 7:52 AM
@Blergh - I have a sense that you are bringing race into this.
Maybe race and sexual identity.

Maybe you can explain more clearly what you mean by this part
"All the while people with less clear cut cases have been treated differently around the same time."

comicfan100
comicfan100 - 6/19/2023, 7:54 AM
@TempleRod - Of course that's the one thing you choose to focus on.
TempleRod
TempleRod - 6/19/2023, 7:56 AM
@comicfan100 - It's right there, it's a lead off.
Pretty obvious to actual intent and meaning.
TempleRod
TempleRod - 6/19/2023, 7:58 AM
@TempleRod - Meanwhile everyone has some kind of weird boner to proclaim me as 'racist'.

When every response to what I say, they show their true colors.
Weird how that works, I guess.
TempleRod
TempleRod - 6/19/2023, 8:00 AM
I dare any of you guys to show me a single time I have been 'racist'
I only issue this challenge because I know you will fall flat on your faces.

Every time 'race' is brought up, I am the first to put forward that IT IS a false structure. It does not even exist.
And since it does not exist, it is a false way to set up government to even recognize it.
ShimmyShimmyYA
ShimmyShimmyYA - 6/19/2023, 8:31 AM
@TempleRod - race does exist fam, give it up , I don’t get why you and the other weirdos are in some death race to be the most hated people on here

You’re not speaking some dark truth, it’s nothing but bullshit from all you take that shit to 4chan
TempleRod
TempleRod - 6/19/2023, 8:33 AM
@ShimmyShimmyYA - Cultures exist. Race does not.
We are all the better to recognize Culture and to realize "Race" for what it is.
Simply a grab bag of genetic lineages spread over time.

That's the true reality of it.
Culture, tho... Yes, that is very important, and it makes a distinction That is worth celebrating and holding high.
1 2 3 4 5
View Recorder