ETERNALS Star Barry Keoghan Weighs In On Negative Reviews; Plays Coy On Sequel Status

ETERNALS Star Barry Keoghan Weighs In On Negative Reviews; Plays Coy On Sequel Status

Druig actor Barry Keoghan has shared his thoughts on the (mostly) negative reception to Marvel Studios' Eternals, while avoiding a question about a potential sequel...

By MarkCassidy - Jan 16, 2023 01:01 PM EST
Filed Under: Eternals

While Eternals certainly has its share of fans, the lengthy superhero drama received mixed-negative reviews when it hit theatres in 2021, and remains the only Marvel Studios release to drop to "rotten" status on Rotten Tomatoes.

The Chloé Zhao-directed film didn't really fare much better at the box office, and despite rumors to the contrary, there's a lot of speculation that a direct sequel may not be part of the studio's plans.

During the latest episode of the Happy Sad Confused podcast, Druig actor Barry Keoghan was asked for his take on Eternals' reception, and he seems to feel Zhao's style simply wasn't something a lot of fans were ready to embrace for the MCU.

“I think Chloe [Zhao] brought a whole kind of feel to it. You know? So Chloe brings - as you’ve seen from her past films - raw performances and really, really touching performances. I don’t think it was… I think it was new. I think it was just new. It was new for the Marvel world."

As for that much-discussed sequel, Keoghan has previously stated that he'd be more than happy to reprise the role of Druig, and remains optimistic about a potential return. The Banshees of Inisherin star also revealed that he spoke to producer Victoria Alonso about the chances of a follow-up, but stopped just short of confirming anything!

"I didn’t get a chance to chat with her too much, but yeah. I’m always optimistic, always. I wanna know what Druig is doing right now. Anyway, we’ll see. You’re not going to get that out of me. I know nothing!"

Maybe we're reading a bit much into Keoghan's comments, but it does sound like he may know a little more than he's willing to divulge here!

Kevin Feige Confirms That The ETERNALS 2 Is Not In Development But Hints At Tiamut's Future Role In The MCU
Related:

Kevin Feige Confirms That The ETERNALS 2 Is Not In Development But Hints At Tiamut's Future Role In The MCU

RUMOR: We May Know When We'll See The ETERNALS In The MCU Again
Recommended For You:

RUMOR: We May Know When We'll See The ETERNALS In The MCU Again

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

1 2 3
MarvelZombie616
MarvelZombie616 - 1/16/2023, 1:20 PM
Eternals was the most clever mcu movie.
Too clever for a lot of people.
It isn't the best mcu installment, but it is in the top third.
JstaKIDfrmBKLYN
JstaKIDfrmBKLYN - 1/16/2023, 1:39 PM
@JstaKIDfrmBKLYN - How the hell do you post gifs on this damn site?
EZBeast
EZBeast - 1/16/2023, 1:51 PM
@JstaKIDfrmBKLYN - remove the s from https part of the gif
JstaKIDfrmBKLYN
JstaKIDfrmBKLYN - 1/16/2023, 2:28 PM
@TheFireForce - Thanks!

@MarvelZombie616 -

http://giphy.com/gifs/disneyplus-WhTC5v5qQP4yAUvGKz
JstaKIDfrmBKLYN
JstaKIDfrmBKLYN - 1/16/2023, 2:29 PM
@TheFireForce - Still not working 🤷🏻‍♂️
EZBeast
EZBeast - 1/16/2023, 2:45 PM
@JstaKIDfrmBKLYN - oh it’s from giphy…they can be pains sometimes. Try a different source
dracula
dracula - 1/16/2023, 2:56 PM
@MarvelZombie616 -
DocSpock
DocSpock - 1/16/2023, 1:21 PM

I want more Eternals. Just do it better.

A lot of great characters for the MCU.

Also, I can't wait to see where Black Knight pops up next.

MyCoolYoung
MyCoolYoung - 1/16/2023, 1:25 PM
I can't lie, You really feel the run time after a while, but it was a good movie to me. I didn't understand the ultra negativity surrounding it, but such is life.
oldnoname
oldnoname - 1/16/2023, 1:32 PM
Eternals was good and better than most things Marvel has done since Winer Soldier. This is the hill I die on.
Knightrider
Knightrider - 1/16/2023, 1:38 PM
I liked Eternals, it was a little slow in the pacing and the villain could have been better, but thought it was a good film… I mean, come on, this somehow has a worse score that Thor 4?
My issues are that it felt too unconnected from everything else and I thought the marketing for the film was terrible
Origame
Origame - 1/16/2023, 1:38 PM
For the love of God, can none of these people just listen to their audience? It's not that it was new. It's that it's something audiences just didn't want.

My God the egos in Hollywood nowadays. And this is coming from the more tolerable ones down there, as others would just accuse the negative reviews as coming from racist incels.
AmazingFILMporg
AmazingFILMporg - 1/16/2023, 2:04 PM
@Origame -


It has a 77% audience score and made the exact same money as Dune🤔
Vigor
Vigor - 1/16/2023, 2:13 PM
@Origame - I think he's just giving his opinion on why ppl may not hav3 liked it. What's wrong with that? Even I can't articulate why people didn't like it. I thought the movie was beautiful. I just wish it were a fleshed out Disney plus series instead
Origame
Origame - 1/16/2023, 2:17 PM
@AmazingFILMporg - f@#% off.
Origame
Origame - 1/16/2023, 2:20 PM
@Vigor - no, he's giving excuses. He's putting it on the audience for not accepting it as opposed to the studio for making a poor film. It's the same line Chloe keeps doing, and it always goes around to trying to convince people to change their views on it.
Vigor
Vigor - 1/16/2023, 2:22 PM
@Origame - but thats your opinion you know? I too thought it was a little too ahead of its time for some people. I actually AGREE with him. I see how his comments can come off condescending though because it implies thar some people who disliked it are simple minded or something lol
Origame
Origame - 1/16/2023, 2:50 PM
@Vigor - but it's purely egocentric to have the opinion it's "ahead of its time" as to why it's disliked when you made it.

And no, in my point it's not my opinion on the views of others because unlike you two I actually listen to them.

Not to mention, it really isn't all that revolutionary. We've had plenty of movies doing what eternals tried to do. It's only new from the perspective of the mcu specifically.
1 2 3
View Recorder