Rogue Reassembles The UNCANNY X-MEN In New Trailer And Preview For Upcoming Comic Relaunch

Rogue Reassembles The UNCANNY X-MEN In New Trailer And Preview For Upcoming Comic Relaunch

Gail Simone and David Marquez's Uncanny X-Men relaunch hits stands on August 7. Today, you can check out an action-packed trailer and all-new preview pages featuring Wolverine, Rogue, and Gambit's team.

By JoshWilding - Jul 04, 2024 03:07 AM EST
Filed Under: Marvel Comics

Next month, industry superstars Gail Simone and David Marquez bring the X-Men home in a new run of Marvel Comics' flagship Uncanny X-Men series.

In the wake of the island nation of Krakoa's fall and Professor X's imprisonment, Rogue takes on the responsibility of leader by reuniting a core team of X-Men. It's a new era for one of the most groundbreaking titles in comic book history, and today, you can get a sneak peek at what's to come in a newly released Uncanny X-Men #1 trailer.

That features never-before-seen artwork, while we also have a lettered preview. The new artwork spotlights the issue's breathtaking opening battle against Sadurang in Mexico City; as for the trailer, it shows the team settling into their new home in New Orleans and a glimpse at the Outliers, the four mutants who will inspire Rogue and the others to keep Xavier's dream alive.

In today’s world, mutants need the X-Men more than ever. With Professor X gone, Rogue reluctantly finds herself as the X-Man designated to keep the team together. Rogue, Wolverine, Gambit, Nightcrawler, and Jubilee forge a new home in a New Orleans, and when four mysterious young mutants show up at their doorstep, that home becomes a haven.

Protecting mutants from a world that hates and fears them, and using their powers to ensure there’s a future worth living in. They are the Uncanny X-Men!

"The shadows of the giants who have worked on this book are all over the landscape, and it gets a little emotional to think about," Simone says of the relaunch. "Everyone has an X-Man they feel speaks to them directly. There's no other franchise like it in comics. It’s an honor and a thrill and a panic, all at once."

"My first idea was, I want to lay out a welcome mat for all readers: new, returning and lifelong. They deserve the best mutant stories I can give them. I want to focus on the humanity, no pun intended. Big action, big personalities."

The series feels very X-Men '97-inspired, no great surprise after that show's recent success on Disney+. However, it's clearly its own thing as well and seeing the team operate out of New Orleans should result in an interesting new dynamic for the team. 

Check out the new trailer for Uncanny X-Men #1 below along with that lettered preview.

UNCX2024001-cover
UNCX2024001-Preview-1
UNCX2024001-Preview-2
UNCX2024001-Preview-3
UNCX2024001-Preview-4

UNCANNY X-MEN #1
Written by GAIL SIMONE
Art and Cover by DAVID MARQUEZ
Colors by MATTHEW WILSON

Kevin Feige On The Possibility Of A Marvel Vs. DC Crossover Movie: I Think About It Occasionally
Related:

Kevin Feige On The Possibility Of A Marvel Vs. DC Crossover Movie: "I Think About It Occasionally"

PREDATOR VS. BLACK PANTHER Covers And First Look Pit The Galaxy's Deadliest Hunter Against Wakanda's Protector
Recommended For You:

PREDATOR VS. BLACK PANTHER Covers And First Look Pit The Galaxy's Deadliest Hunter Against Wakanda's Protector

DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]

ComicBookMovie.com, and/or the user who contributed this post, may earn commissions or revenue through clicks or purchases made through any third-party links contained within the content above.

mountainman
mountainman - 7/4/2024, 5:14 AM
Sadurang? That’s Quetzalcoatl.
ProfessorWhy
ProfessorWhy - 7/4/2024, 6:42 AM
@mountainman - remember " Q: The Winged Serpent " ?
mountainman
mountainman - 7/4/2024, 8:46 AM
@ProfessorWhy - I have never seen that but based on the plot summary I just read I really need to.
clintthahamster
clintthahamster - 7/4/2024, 8:55 AM
@mountainman - It's so much better than the plot summary can convey. Larry Cohen at his most gonzo, and a charmingly unhinged performance from Michael Moriarty. Definitely worth 90 minutes of your life if you're into odd sci fi.
KennKathleen
KennKathleen - 7/4/2024, 7:58 AM
I like the cover. Art looks good as well.
clintthahamster
clintthahamster - 7/4/2024, 8:57 AM
@KennKathleen - The interiors are really good. Gonna keep an eye out for David Marquez.
dragon316
dragon316 - 7/4/2024, 9:44 AM
Finally xmen get darker path go to still looks bad for them , dragon wolverine could handle it by him self have dragon eat him slice his way out be intersting where this goes.,

Another reboot how original tired of reboots dc and marvel keep numbers way they are with avengers and X-men it makes sense when new leader steps up reboot series that’s it
bobbo68
bobbo68 - 7/4/2024, 9:50 AM
I love the team it’s small and some of the core members of the X-Men from the 80s and 90s and the show.
McMurdo
McMurdo - 7/4/2024, 11:30 AM
I just love comics. I have so many I could sell and make money off of but I'm too attached. They were all great grabs at different times. It's hard for me to let go when it comes to expensive paper.
StSteven
StSteven - 7/4/2024, 6:19 PM
@McMurdo - Dude, same here. These days I just collect Transformers graphic novels (as they are my first love), but back when I was in high school in the 90s I was collecting like a fiend with the meager wages I was making working at a fast food joint. I was picking up the Spidey titles, X-Men, Punisher, Ghost Rider, Spawn, etc. My collection isn't very large but I have a lot of the #1s that were released at that time, like the "X-Men #1" with all the interlocking covers, "Spawn #1", etc. I even have a copy of "X-Factor #1" from the 80s (89?) that I was lucky to find. All bagged and boarded. Not sure what it would take for me to part with those but I'm not planning on it any time soon. 😉
McMurdo
McMurdo - 7/4/2024, 7:58 PM
@StSteven - all great books man. Love it.
StSteven
StSteven - 7/4/2024, 11:14 PM
@McMurdo - While I've never been a professional graphic artist (I just do art on the side as a hobby), I really learned how to draw people and such by studying the work of Jim Lee, Mark Texeria (for GR), Todd Macfarlane , et. al in the 90s. There was that run of "Spider-Man" where he was in Canada investigating a murder that was framed on Wendigo and had Wolvie in it as well as the series with Hobgoblin where he possessed a little boy that were both disturbing as well as some amazing art. I modeled my drawing style after MacFarlanes's art there (to a certain degree). That and Lee's style (especially for the X-Men) were my go-tos. Great stuff.
McMurdo
McMurdo - 7/4/2024, 11:45 PM
@StSteven - that's sick man. It's dope that you draw!
StSteven
StSteven - 7/5/2024, 3:03 PM
@McMurdo - Thanks! If I have any natural talent I guess that art would be it (in pretty much all forms except for, like, dancing). I also started taking guitar lessons when I was 6 so I've been playing for... many years. Along the way I taught myself bass, drums, and piano and have so far written about 10 albums (working on 11) and recorded... none. So naturally with all that art background I became... a Data Scientist 😳.

But, hey, on the plus side I have 2 little girls who see to be talented in art themselves and love it when Daddy whips out his acoustic and plays song for them so I guess it's all worth it 😊.
McMurdo
McMurdo - 7/6/2024, 1:38 PM
@StSteven - I got an albums worth of material myself man. I wish drummers weren't so hard to find.
StSteven
StSteven - 7/6/2024, 2:15 PM
@McMurdo - Yeah, one of these days I'll actually record my stuff. I was in a band back in my early undergraduate days and I have a few recordings of us just playing live in my parents' basement and shit, but nothing serious. If nothing else I want to at least publish my book, which is a collection of all my songs, art, and poetry called "The Time Has Come", the Walrus said, "To Talk of Many Things...". One of my biggest musical influences is Pink Floyd so most of my albums are written as concept albums like Floyd generally did.
McMurdo
McMurdo - 7/6/2024, 4:46 PM
@StSteven - right on man. I got into Syd Barrett for some time not long back. Genius man. Tragic the way it ended up going for him.
StSteven
StSteven - 7/6/2024, 7:54 PM
@McMurdo - Yeah. Floyd is still my favorite band. If you're interested in the book "A Saucerful of Secrets". It's a biography about the band that goes up into the 90s and REALLY gets detailed, including shit like Syd got so bad that he would play a show and he would just play a C chord the whole time. And then one day on the way to a gig the rest of the band was like "Should we pick up Syd?" "No, let's not" and that was that. They saw him again in 1991 I believe where he showed up to their studio and asked if there was anything he could do to help and they were like "No" so he left. And they cried. He just spent the rest of his life living with his mom and tending their garden.

And dig this: back in high school I managed to find a copy of a video cassette of Syd's first trip (he was shrooming) at a head shop in downtown Chicago. Pretty sure I still have that around somewhere. I actually saw Floyd in 1994 in Soldier Field in Chicago (I was in high school at the time). It was insane, even if you were sober (which I most definitely was NOT). I've seen Roger a couple of times as well. He puts on a good show but not as good as the rest of the band together.

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.

View Recorder